Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L

BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER™ is an ininovative solid colour coating that will bring your old, weathered wood or concrete back to life. The advanced 100% acrylic resin, fused with ceramic microspheres, creates a durable coating on your tired deck, rejuvenating its look.
Customer Rating:
2.1 of 5
2.1
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
4 of 10(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Review 1 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent on Concrete,
August 7, 2014
By BGBVCBC
from Vancouver BC area
"I used this on a concrete platform at the back of our house last year. I followed the instructions, cleaned, patched and etched the concrete (it is about 30 years old) and applied two coats with a roller. It has held up excellent so for after one year. I pressure washed it this spring and it came out looking like new. Live in lower mainland of Vancouver BC and almost everything needs to be washed each spring in this climate. No peeling, or cracking.
I am very pleased with it on concrete. I have not tried it on the wood deck though. I have never found anything that lasts more than one year on the wool deck, and based on other reviews of using it on wood I expect this would be no better. But for concrete it seems great."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 2 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
June 26, 2014
By Jeanonlady
"Purchased this product for a dock at the cottage. I would recommend not using the coverage quantities on the product. Cleaned & applied as recommended and only used 1/5 of the pail. My biggest complaint is how hot it gets in the sun. We have to wet it down to be able to walk on it!! It does have the grit to it which is great when its wet...which it was most of last summer because it was so hot!!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
June 9, 2014
By HappyHome
from winnipeg
"Upon reading other reviews I am not sure why everyone else had problems, perhaps the deck was not cleaned properly. Used this product on half old and half newly built deck, worked like a charm. The product does dry fast and almost like a cement. Had no issues using a roller. Looks amazing and it did get rid of any splinters and shallow cracks in the wood."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very big Mess,
May 24, 2014
By imschatz
"So, I won't comment on the quality of the product, as it was likely much to hot when we put it on last spring.
But if this stuff starts to peel on you, man is it a mess. And to try and do 'touch-up's are impossible, as the flakes just stick to your brush/roller.
Would not recommend."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Response from Home Depot:By BEHRD24June 18, 2014
Dear imschatz,

You are correct that hot weather is not the ideal environment to use this product (we recommend coating when air and surface temperatures are between 10-32 degrees Celsius). Applying the product outside of this temperature range will cause the coating to dry/cure quickly and may affect overall adhesion to the surface as intended.
Review 5 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not the greatest but good on Concrete,
May 10, 2014
By papa52
from Fredericton, New Brunswick
"This product does not work well on old wood as advertised. I agree with another commenter in that it seems to dry much too fast even in the can and gets sticky very fast. It is very suitable for a flat Concrete floor that has been etched
where you can pour it on and spread it out fast but if you had to do handrails, steps, etc., you would have to be "The Flash" to get it on before it turns to globules in the can. Great idea but needs a bit of refining to be a really great product. Let's see "New and Improved" next Spring!
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Response from Home Depot:By BEHRD24June 18, 2014
Dear papa52,

Whether the DECKOVER coating is applied on wood or concrete, it is important to use this product when air and surface temperatures are between 10-32 degrees Celsius. Applying the product above this temperature range may cause the coating to dry quickly, even inside the can. Avoid exposure of the container and paint tray to direct sunlight at all times.
Review 6 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor product,
May 4, 2014
By rcollins
from Moncton NB
"Paid top dollar for this a year ago, it applied poorly, we followed the directions to the letter, and one season later it is peeling off the deck in sheets. Absolute garbage, save your money buy regular deck paint/stain."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Response from Home Depot:By BEHRD24June 18, 2014
Dear rcollins,

The longevity of our DECKOVER Coating is ultimately determined by the condition and preparation of the surface being coated. Although we expect this product to endure like our top-rated solid colour exterior stains, the aged and weathered condition of the surfaces that DECKOVER Coating is intended for will impact the lifespan of the finish.
Review 7 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst product ever used,
September 16, 2013
By Dawsos
from Edmonton
"Does not cover as advertised, paint begins to skin immediately including inside the pail which comes out in giant clumps. Difficult to roll and ended up using a paint brush. The weathered wood became extremely rough after the first coat and the fumes are extremely strong even in well ventilated areas. Would not recommend at all"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Response from Home Depot:By BEHRD24June 18, 2014
Dear Dawsos,

For most types of coatings, paint skinning is usually caused by exposure to air and direct sunlight. Leaving a can open may create a layer of paint skin. In this situation, we recommend removing the dried skin layer before mixing the product. This would help reduce the amount of clumps from the paint skin. Avoid exposure of the container and paint tray to direct sunlight at all times.

The odour is caused by a specific raw material that is used to provide quick drying performance.
Review 8 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing is an understatement,
August 12, 2013
By ewtoronto
"This product does NOT work as advertised. It does not cover cracks and splinters up to 6mm wide: it doesn't even cover ones that are 1 mm wide!
I first used a roller, and have now given up and am going over each board on the deck with a paintbrush. The only way to cover any crack is just like when I repaint my old Muskoka chair: daub a bunch of paint on it.
So before I had an oldish deck with some worn-in charm, now I have an old painted deck, which I will probably still have to replace in a couple of years.
A complete waste of time and money; the description borders on false advertising."
43 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DECK OVER,
August 7, 2013
By WANCHUCK
from CALGARY
"PUT THIS O THE DECK AND THE DOGS WALK ON THIS AND IT MAKES MARKS AND I MUST RUB VERY HARD TO GET OFF WHATS UP THOUGHT THIS WOULD BE BETER THAN THE STAIN BUT STAIN NEVER DID THIS OMG THIS IS A BAD DREAM HELP"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BEHR PREMIUM BEHR PREMIUM DECKOVER, Deep Base, 3.43 L
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good and bad,
July 5, 2013
By Grammaplus9
"I redid our deck with Deck Over recently and really like the product. It covered well worn wood and was easy to apply. The finished texture is a little flatter than I expected but overall looks great.
My problem is that now that the deck is done and we have had people over for bbq's etc. there are marks on the deck I cannot get off. Not sure if they are grease from the bbq or wax from candles but if I try to wash them off, I end up scratching the paint off too. It appears they have been absorbed into the wood? Now my deck is blotchy and it ruins the overall appearance.
Any ideas of how to remove them? if not, do you think another coat of Deck Over would cover them?
Thanks"
46 of 49 people found this review helpful.