Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac

This portable wet/dry vacuum delivers the high performance necessary to tackle the messiest of projects. Complete with a 7' x 1-7/8" "Tug-A-Long" Hose, general purpose nozzle, extension wands and car nozzle, this vacuum will clean up your dirtiest jobs with ease. With an upgraded fine dust filter that is great for drywall dust and other fine particles, this vacuum is perfect for the jobsite or around your home.
Customer Rating:
4.389 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
6
122 of 136(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Review 1 for RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
unhappy,
July 2, 2013
By hdshpper
from Woodstock,On
"Was not very happy with this product,does not have the power for jobs requiring allot of suction- woodworking ,renos, also very loud. Don't spend your money on this go to a better quality one with more HP."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
Review 2 for RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OKAY BUT NOISY AND YOU WILL SPEND EXTRA $$$,
April 12, 2013
By MYSTUFF
from OAKVILLE
"Vacuums well and is easy to move on the wheels or when carrying. It does not come with all the attachment nozzles you will want so plan on spending extra. Also it is so loud we had to by a muffler for it - which oddly enough Home Depot also sells. Finally when you are vacuuming water once the water level hits the filter cartridge (which is about 1/2 way up the base) water starts to be ejected out the exhaust which then ends up on the floor."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 3 for RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bullet Proof,
December 11, 2011
By TheRenoguy
from Delta, BC
"I bought this unit 5 yrs ago when I started my Reno business and had limited cargo space. It has proved to be an amazing machine, it fits well into small spaces so is good for most vehicle cargo areas. I use it to clean everything from drywall dust to tile debris and all in between. Other reviews mention the noise, I purchased a noise muffler from HD when I purchase the vac, it clips into the blower port and works really well. I have found all the accessories work great and have added to them with a floor brush and two round head brushes, I have also purchased the car cleaning kit which also works well. All in all I am very impressed with this little machine and was even contemplating buying a second as my business is expanding and I plan to have one available for each site. If there is anything negative about the machine it is that you have to remove the accessories from the storage tray to empty the main unit which is a little tedious but when you consider the price you pay plus all the other positive factors I figure it is an acceptable detriment"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
Review 4 for RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 11, 2009
By kingstongreg
"I bought this a few months ago, and have used it for several small jobs. It's got the same power as a bigger shop vac, but is nice and compact. I've used it with one of the "blue" filters for drywall dust, and it's worked great. The small size basically just means emptying it more often than a big model - this may be especially a problem if trying to clean up a large amount of water, but I haven't tried that yet (my guess would be it gets 1-2 gallons of water max).
The noise is not bad. It's loud, but no louder than other shop vacs I've used. I found HD has a fair amount of accessories for it, but some of the bigger ones (floor brush, large squeege-type thing) are only available for 2 1/2". I was looking earlier but didn't find a converter to fit on the attachment and use the existing hose, as this would be the easiest/cheapest way to make it work. I'm sure it would be possible to find something to make it work pretty cheaply.
I didn't find the on-board accessories storage very useful, at least not while actually using it. There is a bin that fits a few things, but it's attached to the dust bin, so when you empty it, you have to remove all the accessories. I end up not using the on-board storage at all.
Definitely recommend as an occasional-use vac, it can hold its own cleaning up anything a bigger vac can do - just a smaller amount at a time before emptying."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great vacuum, bad accesories,
May 8, 2009
By UnusedDisplayName
from Saskatoon, Sk
"I really like the portability and power of this vacuum, but the accessories are over priced and limited. The standard shop vac accessories don't fit the hose that comes with it, and the accessories which do can't be bought separately, and the kit is over-priced. I realized this at the time of my purchase, and had to think long and hard before buying. This fact brought the cost of the vacuum up equal to that of much larger vacuums with the same hp rating on the motor. I did buy it just for the shear convenience of having a powerful, and small utility vacuum, and I don't regret my purchase."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 6 for RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every penny,
May 8, 2009
By ironstalin
"perfect size to fit under a bench or if storage is an essense. i lilke everything about this vacuum. i also bought a silencer but it did not reduce the noise much, i don't expect a shop vac to be a quite as a house vac"
Review 7 for RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small vacuum with very big abilities.,
April 27, 2009
By Carpenter599
from Niagara Falls Region, ON
"As a 3rd vacuum in the shop, it was to be used for spot cleaning. It works in certain areas of the shop where the larger vacuum was overkill or too much work to move & set up. Purchased for its size & weight, it outperforms a larger vacuum we have been using. Its power to weight ratio is surprising, but being a RIDGID, we should have expected it. It doesn't have a real large choice of attachments, but those it does have work very well. The only real complaint with this model, & the reason I didn't give it a 5 star review, is that it is quite loud. That was a surprise too. RIDGID would do well to come up with a way to eliminate a lot of this noise. When it does, I will add the 5th star to my review."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 8 for RIDGID 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Powerful but noisy and has limited accessory,
October 23, 2008
By PH604
from Vancouver, BC
"Bought this shopvac 1 month ago and I'm impressed with the performance. It's powerful and light. The wheels on the bottom of the canister make it easy to maneuver around the garage and basement. However, I found two problems with this Ridgid Pro Vac model. First, it's way too noisy. My neighbors know when I'm vacuuming the garage or the basement. Second, the 1 7/8 inch hose has very limited nozzle and accessory selection. If you want a large brush nozzle, you'll have to pay big bucks to upgrade to the 2 1/2 inch hose and extension wand to use better flooring accessories. The upgrade will cost you more than the vacuum itself. I wish I knew that before I purchased it."
Ratings-Only Reviews for 4.0 Gallon RIDGID PRO Vac
Based on the average of (136) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 117 out of 128