Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Fiskars Coring Aerator

Easily aerate lawns to improve lawns health and encourage growth by increasing water, nutrient and oxygen movement into the soil. Increases turf density by stimulating the grass plant to produce new shoots and roots. Helps break down thatch. Allows for greater infiltration of water, helping to improve drought tolerance.
Customer Rating:
3.667 of 5
3.7
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 of 9(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Review 1 for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coring Aerator,
May 8, 2013
By Clark021
from Calgary, AB
"I just bought it a few day ago. I have a small yard and I don't need to pay the ridiculous price for a landscaping company to come and aerate my lawn.
I watered my lawn the day before like you should to soften the soil and had no issues getting the job done quick."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap, and not in the good way,
October 8, 2012
By Daylight
from Edmonton
"I can say I did aerate my lawn 3 times with this tool. But then, on the 4th I had the same problem as others. The shaft snapped at the base of the tool. Don't be fooled by the 1/8" steel on the foot plate, the shaft is made of a gauge of steel too thin to be used in a hand tool like this. It will crack and break at the weld.
Fiskars needs to stop being so cheap and redesign this model with a thicker gauge steel handle."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
June 2, 2012
By Reviewer70
from Toronto, ON
"I have never reviewed a product before but this coring aerator performed really well. It's well built and you can use it over and over again. I did my whole back and front yard in about 30 minutes. No need to pay someone to come by and dig holes in your back yard."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fiskars Coring Aerator,
April 23, 2012
By seamus
from milton, on
"This aerator is perfect for a small yard .I would suggest to use it only on fairly moist soil where an effortless push of the foot embeds the aerator all the way.
I used it on firm ground and using my upper body to push down on the handle , as well as using the foot plate, the shaft broke on the curved portion. It is made of very light metal, which makes it very easy to handle but it's not very robust.. .
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 5 for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fiskars Coring Aerator,
April 22, 2012
By lawnbstr
from Winnipeg, MB
"This product did not last one use. It broke at the lower part of the shaft. Not even half of my small lawn done. Inexpensive but not worth it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good while it lasted...,
September 27, 2011
By averagejoe11
from Ottawa, ON
"This product worked as advertised for my front yard, but then the handle and shaft tore off while lifting the aerator from the lawn and cut my leg.
While the product feels pretty solid, the steel in the shaft itself is only about 1mm thick, and the welded joints were not well done. I do not have a very big front or back yard, as I live in a townhouse, and expected this to last longer than a single use.
I am very disappointed with this product and would not recommend it to anyone."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 7 for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aerator,
May 29, 2011
By donedeal99
"Spent 3 weeks trying to get someone to come aerate my lawn but eveyone wanted too much. Considered renting the machine but it is very heavy and a pickup is required. Gambled on this little guy thinking it may take forever to do my yard. Not only did the product work wonderfully but I actually completed my yard in a couple of hours. If I had only known this would have worked so well. Will never waste money on landscapers or renting again"
Review 8 for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product...,
April 8, 2011
By AdamB
from Vancouver
"Just bought this tool, and I must say it's great! I was on the fence about possibly going with a rental power aerator or buying this. And i must say after spending about half hour to do my entire back yard, I'd like to say it's a no brainer: BUY THIS! It is not much effort at all, and it works great."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 9 for Fiskars Coring Aerator
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fiskars Coring Aerator Review,
May 7, 2009
By OSPF
from Toronto
"I purchased this Coring Aerator last week and used it on my lawn. I had near perfect soil conditions and this Aerator worked really well. There were a few damp sections on my lawn so soil started clogging up in the metal tub. This however is not design flaw as damp or wet soil will tend to clog all manual coring aerating devices. Cleaning out the holes was an easy task when the tub did become clogged with damp soil. The construction of this aerator gives a it very "solid" feel yet it is light enough to handle for an extended period of time. It's design made it comfortable and easy to work with. It ended up taking me at least an hour to manually aerate my lawn and I still have the back yard to do. ( I have a fairly large yard and it was a beautiful day out. Got a good work-out too.) I would highly recommend this device. The only reason I did not give this a 5 star rating is because I've only recently acquired this device. If it continues to perform the task the way it does now a couple of years from now, I would give it a 5 star rating. I hope the Homedepot location I went to restocks this item because I picked up the last one on the rack.
Thanks."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coring Aerator
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5