Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches

Solaris will efficiently cut the average lawn on one charge. It is also “green” and produces virtually no harmful emissions. Innovative and simple, the push button allows for a quick and easy start while the LED reader displays the amount of power left in the batteries while mowing. With virtually no maintenance and no gas or oil to deal with, all you have to do is… push and go!
Customer Rating:
3.643 of 5
3.6
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
13
47 of 69(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Review 1 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible value at an incredible price,
December 8, 2011
By HomeRoboticsCanada
from Chatham, ON
"I purchased the last Solaris rechargeable lawnmower at an incredible sale price. Shipping was very fast and I look forward to using my early Christmas present in the spring. It's the biggest present under the tree LOL."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
Review 2 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sooo Excited with my Purchase!!,
November 10, 2011
By NJayB
from Ottawa, ON
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Arrived faster than promised. Had a couple of issues and contacted the company. They were fantastic. Friendly and prompt to deal with my issue.
The mower is a dream come true for me. I've been environmentally conscious for many years and have always used a push mower. A year ago we purchased a much larger property and I broke down and bought an electric mower with a cord. What a pain that was. I was always tangled in the trees and shrubs and forever fearful of running over the cord.
I had believed that I would sacrifice power for the environment. Not at all true with this mower. Tons of power and with the rear bagger, I'm not raking leaves anymore. It chews up everything in it's path including twigs and sticks. My old electric couldn't do that! So much power that the bag fills all the way, and even compresses the debris into what resembles a brick. Very easy to slide into the paper yard waste bags.
I could not be any happier and wish all my noisy gas guzzling neighbours would buy one!!!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 3 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower without the fuss,
September 19, 2011
By Brigde
from St-Hubert, Québec
"Simple, no fuss, no maintenance, powerful & eco-friendly.
Love it!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 4 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Green machine that keeps on kicking!,
September 1, 2011
By Firthgirl68
from Mississauga, ON
"I bought my Solaris lawn mover 3yrs ago and it is still going strong. I wanted a green lawn mower that cut well with little maintainence. The only thing I would recommend is you get the self propelled and an extra set of batteries (I fried mine by pushing in the charger too far one day) which you can order online and they ship directly to your house.
I find the self propelled comes in handy as I have a hill with quite a steep decline around my pool and it does well there. The self propelled feature does eat up my battery use so wouldn't recommend it if you would be using it all the time to mow. My lot is 55 x165 and I can do both the front and backyard on 1 single charge of the batteries. The bag is easy to remove and dump the grass and the push button start is easy as well, stores easy in my shed. I have had neigbours stop me in the street when mowing and ask me why this mower is so quiet compared to others- when I tell them it is a green mower that runs on batteries they love the idea. I have been told I am the envy of the neigbourhood!
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 5 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower,
June 16, 2011
By Embomer
from Kitchener ON
"This mower far exceeded my expectations. The Solaris is a very powerful mower. The rear bag is a good size so I didn't have to empty it as often. I have a fairly good sized yard and the battery "JUST" lasts long enough.
I did buy a second set of batteries just in case the grass is extra long and takes more power to cut.
The mower is very quiet. The first time I cut the lawn with it my wife didn't even know that I was cutting the lawn.
It is a heavy mower so the self propelled feature is a must
I would definitely recommend this mower."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 6 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saves me time! I'd recommend.,
June 11, 2011
By UrbanLogger
from Grimsby, ON
"I've had a manual reel mower for the past 8 years and put up with the challenges of long grass, twigs and chuckles from the neighbours.
My Solaris mower saves me time. I'm fanatical when it comes to making my lawn look like carpet. I would mow my lawn three different directions with my reel mower and then rake the clippings. The lawn looked great, but it was like a part time job.
With my Solaris I get the same great green carpet look with one pass and the mulching feature means no raking.
Pros: none of the dangers of storing and pouring gas; very quiet; clean cut; good with medium/long grass; self-propelled front-wheel drive; 2 lift out batteries for easy winter charging
Cons: It's heavy making it hard to maneuver; self-propelled speed is too high and can't be adjusted (wish it had variable rear wheel drive); unsure of the environmental benefits due to the battery (no info on web site)
I'd recommend the mower to those who can handle pushing around a 100lb mower."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 7 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 2,
June 9, 2011
By BobbyCanuck
"I Love the over sized grass catcher, I can do my whole backyard in one go.
Hang on tight when you are using the self-drive mode, this drive shaft has a lot of torque. Sure makes it easy as eating pancakes to mow.
If your lawn is in great shape be careful with the self drive, it has so much torque, it may chew up your grass. My lawn is thrashed so it hardly mattered."
Review 8 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
powerful and quiet,
May 16, 2011
By rivs
from Stratford
"this machine is everything that is advertised - really as simple as plug and play.
the quiet operation is deceiving as the mower is quite powerful. I won't be using the self propelled feature as it is very strong and fast
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 15, 2011
By pawlie
from Halifax NS
"Starts easily, safe, strong self-propelled pulling wheels. Great for uneven terrain. Mower is quite heavy because of the electric motor.
Easy to remove batteries can be charged away from mower or while in mower"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 10 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solarius lawnmower,
May 12, 2011
By mike101011
from oakville, Ontario
"pro's -Easy to assemble, very quiet operation, cuts through long grass easily, charge lasted longer than expected, looks good, feels good... has a nice ride and no vibrations or shakes, charges quickly
con's - very heavy - takes a few minutes to get used to the weight when pushing"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 11 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product - Great Buy,
August 23, 2009
By grm42
from Where the grass grows (SW Ontario)
"End of season sale at $329 for the self-propelled model. At this price, I couldn't resist.
No more gas, oil, filters, smell, fumes, noise, tune-ups, spark plugs, and on and on.
This has got to be one of the best buys ever. The mower cuts as well as any comparably priced gas mower, mulches just as well (or better). Over 30 years of cutting grass and hating every minute. Except now, I actually look forward to it.
The self-propelled function works great & is well worth the extra $30."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 12 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solaris makes a good Lawnmower,
July 13, 2009
By Anonymous
from Coquitlam BC
"I bought this lawn mower at the end of May 2009..
I wanted to use this mower a few times before I reviewed.
I have about 13,000 sq/ft property. my house is less than 2000sq/ft, so I was ready to send the mower back if I wasn't happy with it.
Even in my large yard (for being in the city), it does the job very well. The first time I mowed my lawn, it did the entire lawn. The second time I did it, it mowed about 80% and it stopped.
The reason it didn't last long this time is because I had left the grass growing up pretty high (about a little under 3 weeks). I cut my lawn to about 3inches so the grass was at least 10 inches. It really doesn't like long/wet grass.
Now I try to mow my lawn at least once a week and I have still have power to spare. Please note that I don't use the self propelled feature very much. I do use it, but I think of it like NOS in a race car. I use it in tight corners, or if I want to have a little fun. It works really well if I may add. It will drain your battery faster if you use it all the time, I have a big yard so I don't use it for most of the mowing, with it on though mowing is a breeze.
The mower isn't light, but it's not hard to move around, especially with the self propel.
I found it annoying when using the self propelled feature, that when I pull backwards, the front wheels lock. This happens if you pull back too quick after releasing the lever for the self propel. I've adjusted to it though. It does tell you about it in the manual.
Easy to install, batteries are easy to put in and take out. LOVE the large wheels.
Grass goes into the catcher nicely.
This Mower works great, before I bought it from Home Depot I asked if they have any returns on these mowers and they said "No, None come back."
It's listed today July 12 2009 on the website for $529.00. I got it when Home Depot had that trade in rebate program. When you bring in a gas mower to trade they give you a $100 rebate for a new Eco Mower. It was also on sale for $499 at that time. So I only paid $399 for it plus tax. I bought an old gas mower for $25 and got the rebate.
I don't know about the accessories because I don't need them.
The mower works GREAT!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 13 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREEN POWER,
April 30, 2009
By RASYJ
"Home Depot had a special and I decided to trade in my old self propelled gas mower yesterday. This self propelled model was so hard to find . This was so because it was the only cordless self propelled model around. Another model, the Epic EP21 SP, also made by Solaris is similar to this one, except it has a rear wheel drive. The Solaris SP21 has a front wheel drive, which I think is a lot better.
Very easy to assemble and easy to operate. The battery and the key installation and removal seemed hard at first but once you exert enough force it easily pops in or out. This lawn mower has enough power to easily cut grass. I was very quiet. The batteries enabled me to cut 3,000 square feet with the drive wheel engaged all the time! I had 25% power left at the end. Also the grass clippings did not choke on the front of the bag.
The only thing bad about this Solaris is that it is so hard to find. So come on Home Depot, bring in some more!
I chose the self propelled over the regular push model because it is much much easier to use even on a flat lawn. I am planning to buy an extra pair of batteries just in case. Also this Solaris propelled itself much much stronger compared to my old 6.5HP gas mower. It's just to show you that the brush less motor had more power than the 6.5 HP gas engine. I am very happy with this lawn mower. Hopefully it will last a long time."
Review 14 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cordless and loving it,
April 27, 2009
By MrLoup
from Wolfville, NS
"The Solaris self propelled mower is fairly quiet and quite powerful. For a sloping yard, it is very easy to use. However, keep in mind that the more you use the self propel feature, the more energy it uses and thus can leave you stranded at the other end of your yard with the lawn half cut. Use self propel going uphill but not downhill, or just push it on flat areas of your lawn.
Cordless mowers in general will be heavier than electric mowers, and the Solaris is not a small mower. That being said, it handles fairly well for its weight. The levers to engage the motor and self propel are separate, and the motor immediately cuts out when you let go of the handle. The LED power indicator is nice, but not easy to read in certain light conditions.
If you have a larger yard like I do, I recommend plotting your yard into quadrants so full sections get done before the power runs out. I find, due to a sloping yard, I can get about half the lawn cut before I need to recharge. Probably an extra set of batteries would be necessary for anyone with a large yard who cannot wait until the next day to finish the job. The batteries take about 12 hours to charge, and you can either plug the power cord directly into the mower or use the charger set provided and charge your batteries elsewhere.
For the very eco-conscious, there is a solar panel charging unit that can be purchased separately. Just be aware that the instructions state it takes an average of two days to charge your batteries (vs 12 hours) if using solar. Then again, if you are only mowing once a week, that is more than adequate.
Not every location carries this mower, so you may have to shop around if you actually want to see one before you buy. Unless supply is an issue, I think a lot more would sell if they were at more stores. That being said, it can be ordered for pick-up at your local Home Depot or shipped directly to your home."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 15 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How to get rid of your gas,
April 17, 2009
By boots61
from Vancouver,BC
"I would give the Solaris 10 stars if I could. It is so nice not to deal with gas or cords. The batteries have enough power to cut our lawn three times (20 min. each) without having to recharge. This was discovered after dethatching. We just bagged the clippings by mowing them twice. The start up after the winter was no problem as well. The tires are so durable and large that most of the time I don't need to use the self-propelled feature but it is nice when needed on a slope. Changing heights is very easy to do with one lever. Cleaning underneath is a breeze since there is no gas to leak out. The bag is very easy to take on and off. The only con to buying this from Home Depot in store was that the salespeople in two store locations tried to steer us to the same gas powered lawn mower. We are so pleased that we insisted that we were there to buy the Solaris."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for small lawns,
November 11, 2011
By BarrieBear
from Barrie, Ontario
"The mower provides enough charge to just do my front lawn, an area of
about 2500 Square feet, with the self-propel feature used most of the time. It is a great mulcher of leaves and grass.
The charging setup is easy and good, either in the machine or with the batteries taken out. It does take a few hours to charge with the included charger.
"
Review 17 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth considering,
September 29, 2011
By Powermower
from Grande Prairie, AB
"The mower arrived with a broken battery handle provbably due to shipping. Easy to set up and start mowing. One battery charge was sufficient for my large lawn - which surprised me. It didn't have the leaf collection power of my old gas mower probably because the blade is straighter, but it cut grass just fine. Overall a good buy for the price."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 18 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD PRODUCT,
May 15, 2011
By lorac64
from WATERLOO, ON
"WAS EASY TO SET UP AND USE, DID A FANTASTIC JOB OF THE LAWN IN HALF THE TIME OF OUR OLD ELECTRIC MOWER."
Review 19 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solaris 21" Self propelled cordless mower...GREAT,
May 26, 2010
By Pete13
from Niagara area, Ontario
"I purchased this item from Home Depot in 2009 and after a year of trials & testing, I am very happy with it. It is quiet, safe and easy to use. Like all electric mowers, it does not have the power or cutting ability of a gas mower but the ease in charging and the lack of noise more than makes up for it...it is great for small areas...it is not meant for acres and acres of lawn.
Last year, when I purchased it, I kept my lawn fairly long, 4 - 4 1/2 inches, which was a mistake especially if there was any wetness at all. The cut was extremely poor or if very wet,impossible.
This year I'm cutting the grass at 2 - 2 1/2 inches and it makes all the difference in the world. The cut is much better and it will even cut when there is a small amount of moisture on the grass.
The self-propelled feature is great once you get the hang of it...so much so that I double cut the lawn to get that perfect look without any effort. The mower is heavy but not a factor once you utilize the self-propelled feature correctly.
I recommend this mower to anyone who does not have a giant yard and who likes a quiet mower.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 20 for Solaris Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower – 21-inches
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Mower, Very short battery life,
May 29, 2009
By jimjutte
"I bought this mower two days ago, charged the battery for 24 hours and then gave it a test on a lawn that hadn't been mowed for a couple of weeks. Putting the batteries in was a snap as was starting, although, I agree with a review on another site, it is best to hold the starter button for a few seconds to ensure the blades are up to speed. Using the self-propulsion is bitter-sweet. It certainly pulls the mower, but it also eats up the battery, thus I managed to get barely 20 minutes and then it just died. Interestingly, if you don't engage the self-propulsion, you can still get a little more out of the battery, but this isn't the purpose of getting a self-propulsion model. Hopefully the manufacturer will make a deeper cell battery to offset this issue. My yard is 1/3 of an acre, not small, but certainly not large either. Thus a better battery is a given.
The mower is very quiet, but definitely doesn't like wetter grass or clusters of weeds. It does fine it everything is dry even with long grass. The mower will actually shut off, if the job is too much, however easing it in like any mower will allow it to take care of business.
I tended to just release the self propulsion handle for corners and that worked just fine.
I am waiting anxiously for the solar panel accessory, but just in case, I also purchased the fast charger and a second set of batteries.
Because it is not a gas mower, it is very easy to wipe the bottom of the mower if you're so inclined with a rag.
In spite of the battery, I would definitely recommend this mower as a full-time mower as well as the green alternative it provides...
One last criticism is that accessories like the solar panel and batteries have to be purchased online... I found this out the hard way by going into the store and expecting to be able to buy an extra set of batteries with the lawnmower... no dice."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself