Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower

What makes Cub Cadet snow throwers so easy to use? Our fingertip power steering feature gives you the ultimate in control. Using the fingertip trigger controls, you can enjoy effortless, single-hand operation. This Cub Cadet 24" Snow Thrower makes life in the cold a lot easier with an electric start, 4-way joystick and heated grips, and steerable wheel drive. Don't get caught in the snow this winter. Count on Cub Cadet.Extension cord not included.
Customer Rating:
4.15 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
15 of 19(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Review 1 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Needs better design,
January 6, 2014
By Kiddster2112
from Parry Sound, ON
"I've had my Cub Cadet 24" blower for 3 years now. Mine has been reliable - I have changed the oil and run the gas tank dry every spring. I like being able to start it by hand easily, without using the electric feature (although the electric feature is nice to have!) BUT the heated handles don't generate enough heat to make a difference. And the nozzle direction control often freezes in place, or drifts during operation, requiring that I hold the direction control knob. I'd love to see this blower with the old fashioned screw-thread direction controller that stays where you put it.
If you're buying a blower for the heated handles or nozzle direction control, look for a better design. I paid extra for these, but didn't get my money's worth.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 2 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NICE ORDAMENT IN THE SHOP,
December 28, 2013
By stevmar
"In my opinion after one winter when it was working it was garbage...don't waste your money buy a shovel..bought a yardsman..so far so good..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not a long term machine,
April 24, 2013
By kevi
from timmins, ontario
"its too bad that it isnt built for reliability in the long term .. works good for the first year or 2 but now everything is starting to fall appart... chute rod keeps popping out of its place ... the traction starting to slip.. the traction wheel is chewed up pretty good and the friction pulley is just an alluminum face .. i dont think it will last personally but its only my opinion... doesnt mean the other brands are better but till you open it up you cant see how it is built
as far as the engine that is a very good choice lots of power starts everytime on first pull engine will probably outlast the frame
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100% great piece of equipment - Tough - Powerful,
April 10, 2013
By RonOnTheMove
from Carp, Ontario Canada
"The Cub Cadet equipment is nothing short of amazing, This snow blower goes through anything and everything. I even took it up to my cottage at the end of Feb and cleaned out my laneway which had not been plowed all winter. I put it in first gear and just let it work it’s way through. No wrestling or fighting, it just slowly ate it’s way through the ice and snow.
In addition, this unit starts every time. 95 percent on the first pull, if it is really, really cold, it might take a second pull. I have never bothered to use the electric start option because it starts so easily. The skid steer triggers are a nice touch as is the fiber shoot.
This unit get 5 stars plus
"
Review 5 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cub Cadet does it again!,
January 18, 2013
By CCFan
from New Minas, Nova Scotia
"This machine starts first time with a hand pull after sitting for a year. ONE PULL! OMG hard to believe. I also have a Cub Cadet Tractor with a front snowthrower but the snow thrower works so well the tractor doesnot get used. The 24" CC ST was actually for my wife and we argue over the use of it because it is so easy to use with that steering feature.
So to summerize; starts well, runs smooth, quiet, great power as it throws the snow a great distance and lastly my wife uses it completely on her own.
Love it!
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 6 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works perfectly,
January 4, 2013
By babnaw
"I don't agree wtih the "single-hand operation" claim, but this snowblower is very easy to steer. The width is just right and it has plenty of power to get the job done. The electric start makes it much easier for me to get it started, Although I haven't used the heat-grip function yet it's nice to know it is there if I want to use it. The turning for the blower direction is sometimes a bit stiff, but nothing worth even deducting a star over. I was lucky to get a great deal on the snowblower partway through the season last year and am very happy with the purchase."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snowblower,
February 4, 2012
By daddymac
"i had just bought the cub cadet snow blower, i find the features are great. it is easy to start and over all a great product. cant wait for it to snow."
Review 8 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cub Cadet Snowthrower,
December 22, 2011
By elrafih
from Kitchener, ON
"MTD engines are bad."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bring on the snow!,
November 11, 2011
By DouglasC
from Petawawa, ON
"Love it! Delivery service dropped it off right in the garage and it only took about 30 minutes to assemble using the easy to follow instructions. Checked the oil, gassed it up and started it with one pull of the manual start. Everything worked perfectly out of the box and now I'm just waiting for the snow."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 10 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Club Cadet Snow Thrower,
February 9, 2011
By RLRLRLRL
"Assembly time = 30 - 45 minutes
Excellent steering and throwing power. I find the joystick quite cumbersome, but otherwise this is a great machine. It's really hard to push if you run out of gas (lesson learned) I would recommend to anyone.
"
Review 11 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Snow Blower,
February 4, 2011
By James777
from Burlington, ON
"This is a great machine, from all the features to the solid performance. Had a huge snow storm and cleared my double drive and 2 neighbours with ease. Sorry shovel, but you've been replaced! :-)"
Review 12 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
February 2, 2011
By CSHH
from Guelph, ON
"Assembled the product in about 30 mins.
Had 20cms of snow today and cleared my 2 car driveway in 20 minutes. Throws snow a good distance, the only minor complaint is that the joystick is too hard to manouver
Overall an awesome product
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 13 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase,
January 30, 2011
By Chas007
from Rural NS
"Easy to finish putting this snow thrower together. Took about 30 mins to put the parts in place, however, hauling away the shipping material and box was a challenge. The machine works great, shoots the snow a good distance which should be closely watched if you live in close proximity to your neighbor. Does everything asked of it and more and I have a very large gravel driveway (this machine is recommended for small to medium size paved ones). Warming handle grips are a great feature as are the ability to control how the machine turns. I read several reviews before purchasing this and concur that it will be interesting to see how it stands the test of time as many other snow throwers do.."
Review 14 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesomeness,
January 28, 2011
By reginamike
from Regina,SK
"A great product! It arrived a day early which was a bonus, it took about half an hour to do the little bit of assembly required. After I topped up the oil and added some gas, I pumped the primer 3 times and gave it one pull, it fired right up. I did the required tests as per the manual and then away I went. It blows great, the power steering and control interlock are great features, the only little issue I have is the joystick controller for the directional, you pretty much have to stop in order to change the direction you are throwing the snow, the joystick is hard to move unless it is emptied out. Other than that, it is a great product and I had excellent customer service from Home Depot associates whenever I checked on my order. Final rating... AWESOMENESS!!!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 15 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Money well Spent,
January 24, 2011
By ClearwaterBC
from Clearwater, BC
"I bought the Cub Cadet Jan 21/11 because I was snowed in! I had over a foot of heavy snow and my driveway at the road was 2ft. thick from the highway plow!
The electric start worked great. I did the 2ft. snow first and in low gear the Cub did the job! There was some ice chunks in the pile as well and it didn't even slow it down. I'm impressed. The light is so great because I usually end up doing the work in the dark after work.
The hand warmers work really well, I turned them off after a while because my hands were getting too warm in the -10c weather.
The 6 speed gearing and the turning feature is such a help. The tires are really grippy and when I got into the back yard to make a path to the firepit, I was shocked that it tore through it easily.
Money well Spent!!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
Review 16 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase.,
January 16, 2011
By Johnnytomorrow
"Easy to handle, a real workhorse for a small unit. Exceeds my expectations."
Review 17 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We Need More Snow!!,
January 8, 2011
By JimfromBeaumont
from Beaumont, Alberta
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I love this thing!!
I bought it still in the box, rented the Home Depo van and unloaded it myself. After reading the manual...it was put together and ready to go in pretty much a few minutes. Prime it properly and it fires up at the push of the button. Very nice feature!
This is my second winter and I have had NO problems at all. Starts easy, lots of power, the power steering turns on a dime. I can do one side of the sidewalk and spin around and do the other side without having to even think of using the reverse gear.
The heated hand grips and head light work great.
The joystick chute works great under light to medium use...but gets a little hard to swing the chute when your into deep or heavy snow. Deep as in over a foot deep.
It will also do the big bank that the grader leaves me in front of my driveway. The ice chunks don't sound good...but there is no damage to the chute or even scratches in the paint on the blades or tub.
I'm including pictures of a trench I just made, Jan 2011.
The snow is 2 feet deep and about 3/4 heavy and 1/4 fluffy but had NO problem blowing it 25 feet without having to stop the forward momentum. I blew the snow straight forward as a drove ahead. Just put it in 1st gear and off you go.
The engine just lugs slightly and keeps going strong!
I am very impressed with my Cub Cadet 24 incher.
And the fact Home Depo had it on sale for $799 was a bonus. Thank-You Home Depo.
The only thing that might worry me is the joystick control for the chute. After YEARS of use it might acted up...but until then...it is still and EXCELLENT machine!!
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 18 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
let it snow,
December 25, 2010
By daddycoolmj1
"I just love it, handles great ,lots of power,keep's the hands warm and when your warm the time flies, about 4.5 hrs of work per gas tank full , cant wait till it snows so I can go out and use my new cub cadet 24" snow thrower. let it snow MJ."
Review 19 for Cub Cadet Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winter in the Peg,
November 20, 2010
By MBRUNNER
from Winnipeg, MB
"I purchased this unit in the box and was able to unload and setup myself. Just remember the weight factor for this unit. Was very impressed on how easy it was to setup after checking the manual first, added fresh fuel and checked oil level before first start up. Runs extremely well and tried it out the next day after a snow storm in Winnipeg or Winterpeg as we call it. I highly recommend this unit due to the extra features included: eg: heated hand grips, lamp for night use, which works great. The quick turn option is awesome... I also like that the auger shaft bearings are grease-able with fittings, big plus.. Only one area will be interesting to see how it stands up over the years is the toggle joystick control operation.
Being a mechanic for over 30 years, I have owned others and like this one the best so far, seems more quiet than the ones in the past. Also like the place where the electric starter motor start button is mounted."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cub Cadet 24 Inch Snowblower
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5