Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel

The Sno Wovel is a snow shovel on a wheel that is designed to reduce back strain when shovelling snow and reduce the risk of heart-related injuries. A more environmentallyl-friendly and less expensive alternative to snow thrower, the Sno Wovel wheeled shovel now features a folding frame that makes it easy to store and transport – go from clearing snow to folded on a shelf or hung on the wall like other shovels in seconds. Now features four quick handle height settings to match virtually any height user. The Sno Wovel is 30% lighter than the original model, with half the number of frame parts and assembles in less than 20 minutes.
Customer Rating:
4.449 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
15 of 17(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Review 1 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Funny Looking but Clears faster than several men,
September 11, 2011
By Snowshovelfool
from Burnaby British Columbia
"I purchased this because I wanted help clearing a long wide fairly flat driveway without the aid of a power snowblower (I live in Vancouver how much snow will I get?) I brought it out during our first and only dump of snow last year and cleared our driveway in less time than it took 3 men from the city to clear a smaller driveway on the city owned property, I can tell you they all wanted to try my Sno Wovel and they came and did. It may look funny but it started lots of conversations and was fun to use."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 2 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SnoWovel-Great Invention!,
February 7, 2011
By johnnydc
from Ottawa, ON
"I purchased my Wovel in December 2009. I was skeptical at first but was quickly won over! Having chronic back problems makes snow shovelling a bit risky but the SnoWovel more than does the job! The only problem I have is stopping to explain to people what the heck that wheeled thing is!!
Great tool!!
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 3 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sno Wovel is a good shovel,
February 6, 2011
By tiredc
from Northern Ontario
"I ordered this shovel since it sounded like a potentially enjoyable way to shovel snow , get exercise and not hurt my back. I also thought it would be useful to quickly clean the snow from in front of my cottage to make a skating rink for my grandchildren. It has proved itself. It is fun to use and does the job at least twice as fast as a regular snow scoop. After using it for an hour at a time my back did not hurt at all. In addition the arm action required to throw the snow gives a good workout to the triceps muscles of the arms. The one complaint I have of it is that the action needed to use it caused the hair pin which holds the wheel axle in place to jerk loose and be lost in the snow.In addition the DVD that came with it was of poor technical quality; that is, it kept skipping when it was being viewed on the TV.All in all I think it is a good product."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 4 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
trouble with the wovel...,
February 4, 2011
By Pappy
from Kimberley, BC
"I've had this tool for a couple of months and at first was quite delighted with the way it moved snow. However,
As one begins to run out of space to put snow, the wovel becomes useless since trying to 'flip' the snow up high enough to get it over the piles you've already created becomes impossible and you have to resort to using a traditional snow shovel since it'll enable you to throw the snow higher.
Nevertheless, it's a great product, particularly if you have any 'trick' back problems and the learning curve on how to effectively move snow around is relatively short.
I see it's really dropped in price. So if you're sitting on the fence about getting one, and you've got plenty of room to store unwanted snow, go for it. You'll see just how incredible this item is.
Ta-ta and happy woveling !"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it,
February 3, 2011
By redbaron5k
"works great. I work outside all day as a letter carrier, when I get home I dread shoveling. Since I got this product I love to shovel even doing my neighbours driveways. Very easy to use. Save on your back and heavy lifting. Expensive but cheaper than a snowblower, eco friendly as well and never have to bring it for repairs. If you do buy one, buy the guard. Expensive but it saves on wear and tear. Shipped right away as well. Most expensive shovel I`ve ever bought but I don`t regret it a bit. Have fun!"
Review 6 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WASTE OF MONEY,
January 22, 2011
By PAULCROSS
from PEACE RIVER, AB
"I WANTED A PRODUCT THAT WOULD HELP MOVE SNOW BUT THE PROUDUCT MISSED THE MARK - FOR THE 144. I SPENT IT WOULD HAVE BETTER SPENT ON REGUARL TYPE SHOVELS. IF I COULD RETURN I WOULD WITHOUT HESTATION"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 7 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Tricky to Use, Not Worth The Price,
January 22, 2011
By jennif023
"I was excited about the SnoWovel--- I have a bad back, and cannot afford to pay somebody else to remove my snow, so it seemed like a good solution.
First of all, it was kind of hard to put together. But that was not a big deal.
The good part about the Wovel is that it does make *moving* the snow much easier. But once the snow is on the scoop, it is very difficult to deposit it anywhere. You have to kind of "pop" the handlebar thingy down, while not breaking your forward momentum. Seriously? It was very difficult. I even watched the enclosed DVD, but it did not help. I tried it once and gave up. A very expensive experiment."
Review 8 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best shovel I have ever used!,
January 20, 2011
By cjaj
from Saskatchewan
"I have a really bad back and have found this shovel a life saver. Shoveling is a real pain and sometimes it seems you are doing it every day. I had a brand new typical snow shovel and I was constantly bending over and shoveling my driveway took for ever. With this shovel I can get it done twice as fast and I can throw the snow further on my lawn or on the street. It's really nice shoveling while you are standing straight. Couple of tips; when putting on the rubber tread, secure both ends first before trying to stretch it on and GET the tip attachment. I have already gouged the end of my shovel b/c of the edges in the cement. This shovel is expensive but worth every penny."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 9 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical, but the darn thing works!,
January 18, 2011
By magicthighs
from Mississauga, ON
"I got the 'wovel' off the home depot auction last year. I was skeptical because of the design and it sat in my garage all last winter while I laboured with a regular snow shovel. This year, I decided to assemble it and use it after a huge snow storm. My wife thought it was stupid that I spent 2 hours assembling the thing when I could have finished the driveway in that time.
At first I was embarrassed at the gawkers passing by wondering what in blazes I was doing with such a silly looking device. But after finishing my sidewalk and driveway in 1/10th the time it normally takes, I'm addicted to shoveling the snow! I actually look forward to the snowstorms and I will clear the snow even during a blizzard.
It's really easy to use. You can move a lot of snow with very little exertion. The only awkward thing is how to dump the snow. But it's not that bad.
Let it snow!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 10 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing tool!,
January 17, 2011
By Britt86
from Chapeau, Qc
"I have to say that at first my husband was very sceptical of the Wovel and thought that I wasted my money online, but since we've owned it it's been one snow storm after the other and I've only been able to use it once! He loves it! we have a very long and narrow driveway that would traditionally take 2 1/2 hours to shovel, now only take 30 minutes! It is so easy to use and kind of fun actually. I would say the only problem you will have is to decide who gets to clear the driveway..."
Review 11 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good,
January 15, 2011
By Ungardener
from Sudbury ON
"In an effort to make snow removal less onerous while avoiding more spewing of carbon into the atmosphere, I happened on the Sno Wovel. Once I got over giggling at the design (Cinderella's carriage is minus a wheel), it looked intriguing and the reviews were encouraging. I have now used it twice and cleared a fairly long (~40') double driveway in 15-20 minutes each time. That's about a third the usual time. The wheel forces the blade of the shovel down to clear right down to the asphalt and not a lot of force is needed to move the shovel forward. It does a better job than the snow float I was using. Throwing the snow high and forward at the end of a run takes a little finesse, but that comes with practice. The down side lies in assembly--attaching the tire to the wheel was extremely difficult and really requires two people. All in all, I'd say that it works as promised and I am very pleased."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 12 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gift for Dad,
December 29, 2010
By tkehoe
from Windsor, Nova Scotia
"My Dad is 74 and in great shape. I bought this tool to help keep him this way! It works well in fresh powder but fell a bit short in heavy slush that happens when we receive rain after snow in our NS climate! Overall, really pleased with this purchase!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 13 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 18, 2010
By garden55
from Aurora, On.
"Fantastic product!
Makes shoveling the snow fun and easy.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 14 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sno Wovel,
November 29, 2010
By unerose
from Edmonton Alberta
"I have used my wovel for the first time a few days ago after a snowfall of about 3 inches. It took a bit to get used to it, but I was impressed that it did a good job of clearing out my driveway behind the garage. What was not so good was the assembly process, once I got to putting the rubber on the wheel. I would suggest adding to the directions to use a hair dryer on high heat to soften the rubber. If not, it does not stretch. I assembled it in my living room, at a good indoor temperature, so that wasn't a factor. It took me over an hour just to get this piece of rubber on. A longer piece of rubber for the wheel might also be a suggestion.
Overall, though, I am happy with its performance in snow, and will need to raise the arm up one notch to get the height right. I recommend it to anyone."
Review 15 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing really works!,
November 18, 2010
By Jason2010
"I actually have fun shoveling the snow now. The wovel also allows me to re-organize my snow piles on my driveway or lawn with ease."
Review 16 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for your back, hurts the wallet a little...,
January 9, 2010
By SteveT
from James Bay, Quebec
"I have to be honest, I never heard of this product until Home Depot sent me an email telling me this item was on sale. After a little research online, I decided to go ahead and buy it.
I'm living in northern Quebec (James Bay) for the present moment and there is a LOT of snow to shovel. Normally, I use one of those big scoopers to clear the driveway. They can hold a lot of snow which makes things go a little faster, but you can't throw it out of the way. So I decided to give the Wovel a chance when it arrived in the mail yesterday. I had snow that had been around for about a week in very cold weather so it was hard and packed. The kind of snow you could cut out blocks with a knife and make an igloo. It was, in my mind, a good test for this shovel.
First off, the frame itself is made of steel and it seems pretty sturdy to me. The rest of the Wovel is made of plastic including the wheel and the shovel. The wheel also seems sturdy and I'm confident it can handle whatever snow weight I pick up. My first impression of the shovel itself had me worried though as it feels kind of cheap and not very strong. However, after trying in out on the hard, packed snow yesterday, I have to say it will probably do the job it's supposed to. It didn't break and the the snow was fairly heavy so I would say it's good enough. I did order the extra snap-on blade just in case though. Also, it was a little difficult to shovel with the Wovel yesterday because I have a gravel driveway and I kept scraping gravel up along with the snow. I will be ordering the small wheel attachment that installs under the shovel so it glides over the uneven areas.
My overall impression of the Wovel? It does what it says: It is easy on the back (absolutely NO lower back pain for me whatsoever) and it does clear much more easily than a regular shovel. It folds up easily and quickly for storage and it is adjustable for whatever height you are. All in all, it is well-thought out and designed.
The only cons I can think of are: it is a bit expensive and you may even need to spend more for accessories like I did. Also, the quality of the plastic shovel has me worried, but as I said it did the job yesterday on hard, packed snow so I may be worried for nothing.
One suggestion: watch the included DVD first before even putting it together. There are some great tips for generally everything concerning the Wovel that I found very helpful."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 17 for Sno Wovel Wheeled Shovel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sno Wovel is Great,
December 17, 2009
By RetiredInBurnaby
from Burnaby, BC
"The first snowfall here was minor and gave me an opportunity to at least give it an easy try. I usually shovel a few of my neighbours' sidewalks and driveways, I found this sno wovel did the job quickly and it will be beneficial for my back.
The only negative might be to navigate in tight or small areas which would be easier to use a regular shovel.
I would recommend this to anyone and hope Home Depot will eventually be able to sell these and accessories in their stores so I don't have to be charged shipping costs by purchasing online."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wheeled Shovel
Based on the average of (32) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5