Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer

The 4 Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer delivers on power and performance with virtually no maintenance. The 4 Cycle engine requires no mixing of gas and oil, and it's exceptionally low on emissions and weight. With a straight shaft for reaching under decks and lawn furniture, those of you with demanding trimming jobs need look no further. This innovative trimmer is also attachment capable so you can turn any universal lawn and garden attachment into a 4 Cycle beast ready to whip that lawn into shape.
Customer Rating:
2.462 of 5
2.5
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (329 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
46
3 stars
12
2 stars
23
1 star
174
123 of 322(38%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Review 1 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wow,
June 2, 2014
By Broman
from Ontario
"I purchased this even after reading the bad reviews thinking I would like to see for myself. Reason was that it felt really good to hold and I liked the idea of not having to have two separate gas cans since this uses straight gas.
When I got it, I followed the instructions exactly as written and was pleasantly surprised that it started and ran amazingly. It cut well and was easy to use until I went to shut it off. When I pressed the off button it wouldn't shut off. I ended up having to tip it back and forth until it finally stalled itself and shut off.
I decided to give it another try, started it and same thing, wouldn't shut off. Did the same thing to stall it and put it away for a day. Next day I tried to start it and the pull cord would not budge.
My advice...don't buy this. Very disappointed!
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
C430 complete waste of time,
August 7, 2011
By niximis
from florence , alabama
"I have worked with the c430 ryobi 4 cycle (or should i say tried to work with!!...) and let me warn you it is a complete loss. I work for a retired man who owns a LOT of property my job is to keep all the grass and weeds cut back and properly trimmed. Said employer purchased 1 and i was so happy i almost cried because i would finally be able to retire the old Solo weedeater i had been using for 10 years. The Solo was great but time had it's toll on her and it grew weak. So there i was checking the manual making sure every last detail soaked in so i knew proper oil checking and so forth. I filled the gas tank up with 93 octane fuel as i always do. I poured in a little of the recommended oil because it was low out of the box. I primed the carb and flipped the starting choke lever. Pull...Pull...Pull...and bam its running i leave it running for about 30 seconds and pull the trigger Vroom! Vroom! it runs great. I go to pick it up and it dies. So i restart it. It fires right up. I go to pick it up again and it dies. I restart it again this time when i went pick it up i pulled the trigged halfway to keep it running. i go to trim some weeds and it works great i continue on for about 15 minutes and then take a break. When i try to restart it, it does not want to start and requires the choke to be flipped on and pulled about 15 to 20 times. It finally starts back except now its smoking blue smoke as i rev the motor to cut some more weeds i notice oil dripping from the carb housing and from the pull string/centrifigal clutch housing. I shut the motor down and check the oil now it is not even showing oil on the dip stick. I refill the oil and start the trimmer again after a long pullstring battle. It does the same thing when i use it. After i refilled the oil the third time i removed the carb housing door and started the trimmer so i could watch and see where all this oil which has now stained the pull string black and coated entire bottom side of the motor and plastic housings with oil. The oil was squirting out of the black tube (PCV vent )that was in the carb housing. OK so i thought maybe it was a manufactures defect. NO we exchanged 2 more of the trimmers and they all had the same problem. Bad design. Ryobi should have never let the c430 trimmer go any further after quality testing or maybe thats it maybe they were never tested at all. Either way needless to say the Ryobi C430 4 cycle gas trimmer is a complete loss it cost me a few days pay and gave the 4 cycle trimmers a bad name. thanks for reading this and i hope you read well DO NOT BUY C430 TRIMMER."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointment,
May 24, 2011
By Doctorpee
from Fredericton, NB
"I have had a number of trimmers, 2-stroke and 4- stroke. My last one siezed, so I paid a little extra for this 4-stroke, knowing the name and bought it at Home Depot. It ran well the first season, but it's first use this year and the choke lever snapped off, making it useless. Even before that, it runs badly and I suspect the carb is plugged. I had fresh gas and stabilizer in it for winter. Shouldn't happen in a new machine. I was also disappointed there is no air filter in this unit. That can't be wise in the long run.
I found out today the service centre here can't get a replacement part, and he's trying to butcher one lying around for one.
Very unhappy owner of something that should last 10 years.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Easy To Start but Oily Mess,
May 28, 2011
By JMurf
from Manotick, ON
"This is a powerful unit, but the advantage gained by having to use straight gasoline is completely lost by the "oil in the crankcase" concept. I filled the unit up with oil and ran it only to discover that tilting the unit to get at crevices and hard-to-reach places causes some sort of oil overflow/spilling to occur. Also, the unit emitted a massive cloud of smoke, presumably because too much oil got into the cylinder. Also, filling the crankcase was a pain as it was hard to do without spilling.
The unit was powerful enough to take out plenty of weeds and grass, but it's going back to the store in half an hour. I'll probably go for a 2 stroke Echo instead. I'm pretty happy with their leaf blower.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer,
June 2, 2012
By longcarbine
from Victoria
"We bought the 4 cycle timer and on my first run I had a problem with a lack of power and steady power inter
ruption (miss). I decided to go back and follow the instructions, prime the engine the 10 times as recommended in the manual. It cleared the air out of the fuel lines and the trimmer preformed flawlessly. During the first run I did have a problem with the string feed. However once I purchased a reel of string and loaded it into the trimmer head it worked well. Ryobe could have provided a 10 ft. trimmer string and saved me the difficulty I encountered.
I am quite happy with the trimmer and would recommend it.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 6 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Happy,
July 29, 2011
By JJWhatCanISay
from Ontario
"Pros. This trimmer is very, very powerful. It comes with 2 string heads. One has a spool type method to put extra string and feed it by tapping the head on the grass. And a second head that you just cut 2 pieces of line and push them in (easy and fast). The trimmer starts very easily, takes 10w30 oil in the engine (not in the gas) and is somewhat quieter than a 2 stroke trimmer. Also, for the enviro fan, it is considered a green product as it has very low emissions.
If I had to list any cons I would say that 1. it could be 2 inches longer or even adjustable length (depending on your height. I am 5ft 10" without work boots and I think it is a tad short. 2. the gas tank is a bit small but that is probably for weight purposes. if you are using it on full throttle (such as with the awesome tiller attachement) it will last 20 mins. 3. it would be great if there was a strap or shoulder harness to use for longer periods of time.
Overall, as long as it works as well next year as it did this year I would say it is a great purchase and priced well at $200 compared to other 4 stroke models with attachement capability."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 7 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
exalent preformance,but ......,
July 27, 2011
By ari613
from montreal,qc
"i bought this product b/c ithas a 4 stroke engine,i own a 4 stroke outboard motor,and know they are quiter and create less odor then 2 strokes,but are usually hevier.
this is a light machine(lighter then most 30cc 2 strokes).
beware this machine has unusually strong ressistance on the pullcord.
if you use the funel provided to oil/refual, it always starts in under 3 pulls.
now the bad, if you cut tall grass near a fence with it ,the grass gets stuck in the string head and seomtimes makes it stall.
i highly recomend buying the pruner/chainsaw atachment,as well,as the hedger atachment for it(3 tools in 1, all else you need is a lawnmower).
if its droped return it while you have the chance the engine enternals crack easly.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 8 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Tool,
June 26, 2011
By toolswds
from Brampton
"Purchased it about a day ago and it work well as a trimmer and then went back the next nay and purchased the earth cultivator (tiller). Got to say it made short work of what could have been a long day. The trimmer was good but the tiller was great! Lots of power ripped through the earth like a hot knife to butter. can not score it better than a 4 until I see how it works next year. But for now I really like it hope it holds out. MAKE SURE YOU READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great machine,
June 13, 2011
By jcmcannon
from York Region, ON
"Took it home, read the manual through, added the oil and filled the tank, and fired it up. Started perfectly the first time, runs great, plenty of power."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very nice,
May 18, 2011
By sweettazzy
from st cath ont canada
"well wht can i say WOW what a trimmer, i love this no need to mix gas and oil, just gas , at first i had a hard time starting it, then read how to start it, and after a few pulls and it started very nice and then you can just feel the power, the only thing i hated on this is the string line, you should bye more string line, i would highly recommend this trimmer to any one...."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 11 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Trimmer,
September 28, 2011
By Pete11
from Ottawa, ON
"As long as the consumer follows the simple instructions when first using this trimmer, it proves to be light, quiet and clean without sacrificing the power required. It has fulfilled all my expectations of a new 4 stroke trimmer. Great product."
Review 12 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Trimmer,
August 8, 2011
By NWCanuck
"Great unit with lots of power. I have read the reviews on both the US and Canadian Home Depot sites. This is a powerful and easy to use trimmer, as is the 2 Cycle version.
I am puzzled by the problems experienced by some of the reviewers for this product. This trimmer has a tag hanging off of the gas tank that says the trimmer is shipped without oil and to add the "FULL" contents of the oil provided with the trimmer. Why would someone add a "little oil" to this trimmer because it shipped with very little in it out of the box? It ships with no oil in it, out of the box, READ the INSTRUCTIONS.
Other instructions which are covered in the manual but not followed for both 2 and 4 Cycle versions is when storing the unit over long periods of time i.e.: Winter. Remove all unused fuel and run the trimmer until it stops. DO NOT USE fuel stabilizers and other products to keep fuel in the tank over the winter as this will render your unit useless the following year.
Instructions say to replace the spark plug every year.
DO NOT use >15% Ethanol fuel in any small engine, 2 or 4 cycle as it is hydroscopic and varnishes easily when it evaporates over extended storage periods. E85 fuel or "Flex" fuel with damage your unit.
Storing the 4 Cycle version of this trimmer vertically with the engine up will cause oil to run into the cylinder causing compression lock, meaning you can't pull the cord to start the trimmer. Solution? Hang the trimmer by the cutting head and allow the oil to drain back into the reservoir or lay it down on a horizontal surface.
Make sure you read the "Whole" manual first like it states before use it and you will have no troubles with this trimmer, 4 Cycle or 2 Cycle!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RYOBI RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Power Horse,
June 30, 2011
By MP41
from Pelican Narrows, SK
"I bought thi trimmer, to replace my old 20cc junk I had before. I decide to give it a try to 4 cycle and 30cc. I received today, unpacked filled up with oil and gas (READ THE MANUAL), set to full chocke prime couple of times and it fired-up right away, with some light smoke from the exaust, but this is normal the first time. I used for 5 hours straight and right away after 1-2 the smoke went away. When the engine its warm no need to prime or full chocke, enough half a chocke and its start right away. Let me tell you something this trimmers its no light BUT IT IS A POWERFULL BEAST!, I trim, mulch, the grass or weeds and brushes like cutting a bread with ease. The oil provided its 20-50W 65ml, so make sure u allways use this type even when its say in the manual 10-30W its acceptable but not reccomended in a long run. I highly reccomend to everyone who want TOP QUALITY product."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Ratings-Only Reviews for RYOBI 4-Cycle Straight Shaft Trimmer
Based on the average of (316) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 114 out of 309