Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Allure Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)

Introducing “Allure LOCKING”. The latest introduction for Allure takes us to the next level. Allure LOCKING (Uniclic ® design) simply clicks and locks planks to each other, not to your sub-floor. NEW SIZE….longer…wider…thicker! It’s FREE FLOATING and completely GLUELESS! Nano Ceramic Bead Technology – 20-mil wear layer gives Allure LOCKING super durability and greater strength and performance. Home Depot Exclusive Product. This Product Contains 19.8 Sq. Ft./Case
Customer Rating:
4.036 of 5
4.0
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
21 of 27(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Allure Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)
Review 1 for Allure Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good stuff but it depends on your skill level,
November 28, 2013
By exackery
"I have this flooring installed in my foyer/kitchen area and I like it. Softer than tile, easy to clean, and water proof. I really needed something waterproof and this fit the bill. No it is not indestructible it will scratch but not easily. Looks wise >> well it has that slightly "fake" look that all vinyl/laminate has when it tries to simulate real wood but after all>> it is not wood. That being said it looks ok. I ran an alternating pattern with rustic maple and black walnut and it turned out pretty well.
Now onto installation>> is it the easiest floor ever >>> no there is a learning curve but if your handy you should have no problems. If you struggle with home improvement jobs >>stay away.
Always lock the end joints first because they can slide sideways while you lock in the side seams.
To work as intended you must get the joints tight >> not almost tight but actually touching with no gaps. You can usually get real close using the included instructions but sometimes the planks need an extra incentive. I used a scrap piece cut in half plus a hammer and small block of wood to persuade the occasional stubborn plank. By locking the scrap piece into the plank I wanted to "persuade" and using the tap block on this piece I avoided damaging any edges. This is vinyl folks so it helps to be warm when your installing. Also the last piece can be tricky or pieces under door jambs etc... because you can't angle it in to lock>> I found the best thing to do was to heat the seam with a heat gun or blow dryer until very warm (not hot) then use a chisel to pry the planks together (from the wall) as you apply pressure the planks will bow up where they meet >>then at the seam tap along the seam with a small hammer and it will lock together. I had no problem locking the last plank which extends under 3/4 wainscoting using this method. Good luck and may the force be with you.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Allure Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Difficult to lock!,
February 19, 2013
By Brian1202
from Toronto
"I just laid 11 boxes of this product. Like several other reviewers, I found it difficult to successfully lock into place. A good tight seam often required the application of considerable force. Regular laminate snaps together much more easily, in my opinion. The "locking" on Allure kind of reminded me of a bargain- store version of a Ziplock bag!
Allure has the advantage in ease of cutting (scribe and snap) and is waterproof, but if a floor application permitted me to use regular laminate I think I'd prefer it for ease of installation. Allure is not as simple to use as you might think.
Here's my tips:
1) It is critical to a good installation to get the first row absolutely tight, straight and square.
2) A rubber mallet can help tighten and square the seams, but it is very easy to damage the locking strips and it must be used with great care
3) Many planks had a tiny scrap of loose rubber at the corner from the manufacturing process, and if this got into the locking track the piece wouldn't lock at all. Carefully inspect all locking tracks for debris before attempting to join pieces. I kept a small brush by my side and whisked each track whether I saw anything or not.
4) I found it physically easier to kneel on the newly laid floor and pull the new pieces toward me, as opposed to staying on the old floor and pushing them into place.
Lastly, I'll add that I previously used the type of Allure with the glue strip and found it very easy to install. It's stood up well over about 4 years in a bathroom. Hopefully this "locking" version also stands up as well."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Allure Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
October 18, 2012
By Albertagal
from Lethbridge, Alberta
"My husband and I installed this flooring throughout our main floor of our 70 year old house last year. We wanted something that was waterproof as we have three small dogs and a cat - with the inevitable 'accidents'. There was a learning curve to getting the planks to lock. We almost gave up until I got out the double sided carpet tape and put strips of it under the first row to stick it down. That stabilized everything and the rest was easy, as the first row didn't move when you clicked the next rows into each other. Every so often througout the installation I put a strip of double sided tape down, just to make sure everything stayed put. We have been very pleased with the hardiness of the flooring. It looks so much like wood that visitors can't tell it's vinyl, and really cleans up well. We did have two spots where the floor wasn't quite level in the kitchen, and two plank rows separated and would not got back together because of the 'dip'. I got some of that waxy furniture touch up crayon in a light redish colour to match the pattern in the floor and packed it into the crack with a tiny flat ended tool like a tiny pallette knife. It took some effort, but worked like a charm and so far hasn't cracked or come out. Home Depot sells a kit with the crayons, touch up markers and a vial of 'varnish'. I used the varnish over the fix and you don't even see it. We had a couple of other areas where the planks separated across the width, but my husband kicked them back in with his rubber soled shoes and we put a couple of small nails where the baseboard covers the ends, and they stopped moving. The temperature difference by the heat vents affects them I think. All in all the product does what we wanted it to do, and looks terrific - and can easily be taken up and new planks inserted if one gets damaged."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 4 for Allure Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
October 10, 2011
By Nady
from Harrow, Ontario
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"16 months ago we moved to a fixer upper home and being on a budget we purchased this flooring because it looked incredible and we were told at Home Depot recommanded the locking type since durability was of importance. Allure was also recommanded over the hard laminates because of flexibility. The installation was very difficult and it took a long time to get a hang of the locking system (which is very easily damaged). We did get it installed in our bedroom, kitchen, living room, dining room and sunroom. It looked great....until a few months later, when the planks that were previously locked started to come apart. Now we have huge gaps everywhere, and in one spot, not only from end to end of the planks but also one spot is coming apart from side to side. We re locked them all a few months ago and it looked great again, but many of them have come apart again. We will need to rip out the entire floor in the next year and redo it again. We wish that we had gone with our original plan and purchased the type that sticks to each other rather than the locking system. While the floor looks amazing when it's actually holding together and looks very realistic for vinyl, the locking system is terrible and we find it very difficult to clean. The dirt goes into the grooves and is very difficult to clean even with scrubbing. I would not recommand this flooring and suggest you save your money. The flooring was affordable but not "cheap", and we will have to scrap the entire thing to put something else down within 2 years of installation - not a good purchase."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Allure Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Frustrating,
September 26, 2011
By Grtscot
from Kingston, Ontario
"I used this product on a 13 by 17 basement room where the floor was flat. I had a great deal of problems locking the ends together. The horizontal locking edge worked ok but I found the fragile locking grooves were easily damaged.
I would not recommend this product until the locking arrangement is made stronger and a more complete set of installation instructions were included in each box.
I have used the other planking products from Allure with the contact bonding edges with no problem and should have chosen this product over the locking variety.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 6 for Allure Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome experience,
December 20, 2010
By weekendwarrior
from Toronto, ON
"I purchased this product for my basement renovation. The floor was leveled as best possible prior to installation. There will still a few areas beyond the recommended difference. However, this flooring went down like a charm. There was a bit of a learning curve to get the planks to lock in correctly but once we figured that out it was a breeze. We found tapping the edges with a rubber mallet helped. We completed a 13 x 22 room in approximately 4 hours (with a few breaks) and it looks amazing. Almost like real wood. I would definitely recommend this product."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 7 for Allure Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Allure Locking Rustic Maple,
December 18, 2010
By pcoquitlam
"After excellent results using Allure with grip strip, I tried this product for my basement. It seems like a good product but the planks do not lock well and leave frustrating gaps even on a level surface. Do not waste your time with this product."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Ratings-Only Reviews for Allure Locking 7.5 in. x 48 in. Rustic Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 Sq. Ft./Case)
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 18 out of 20