Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel

The world’s safest snow shovel; with virtually no effort, clears away snow 3 times faster than shoveling with half the effort and less risk of injury.
Customer Rating:
4.077 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 of 13(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Review 1 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Invention,
February 13, 2008
By cstone558
from Ronald F, Ajax
"This product is absolutely amazing. extremely versatile.No pollution, no noise, no back pain. This is the way to go. I have used it on every occasion we have had snowfalls in Ajax. This product is one of the greatest inventions in my opinion."
Review 2 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Wovel Shovel,
January 26, 2008
By Budman
from Waterloo, Ont
"This is a great way to move the snow - I have a bit of trouble getting it off the shovel but overall I would recommend it."
Review 3 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing snow removal experience,
January 24, 2008
By lpg001
"Good points: interesting design, works well in light snow and areas with lots of room.
Bad points: ackward and hard to use in tight spaces, poor design, inferior materials. Does not live up to most of the hype.
Review:
Living in Winnipeg we have some experience with snow in various amounts and types. I purchased the Whovel hoping to find a more eco-friendly alternative to our snow blower. The concept looked sound, the reviews were good and I wanted something that was easier on the back.
The Whovel works great on large spaces with lots of room, with fairly light snow. Clearing our patio with it is quick and easy.
Like a regular shovel, the heavier the snow, the greater the effor required.
Due to the length and weight, it is very hard to manuver if space is tight, and trying to back up is an adventure. Clearing our sidewalks and portions of the driveway were difficult thanks to space restrictions. This is a long tool, and really needs a lot of room to be effective.
The blade arm adjustment nuts loosen easily in use, unless you use a wrench to tighten them. Tighter nuts (but not too tight, the nuts are plastic) keep the blade arm on the wheel, but makes it nearly impossible to adjust, unless you keep a wrench in your pocket. Adjusting the blade arm is a job best done someplace warm, with lots of light.
I found throwing snow any direction except straight ahead very hard to do. The throwing motion takes a lot of getting used to, but the Whovel is much easier on the back. However, I did find my calf muscles felt the strain after 15 to 20 minutes of use.
As mentioned in another review, the blade seems to catch on every little defect in the surface you are clearing. Further, the plastic blade chips too easily. The metal blade guard, an option, should be included for the rather steep purchase price.
It is faster than a regular shovel, especially when used as a plow. However, it is less effective than a big scoop in this role, especially with larger snow volumes.
Claims the Whovel is as fast as a snow blower are inflated. I found it to be more work than a blower, and certainly more time consuming.
For removing larger volumes of snow, it is
better than a regular snow shovel, and nearly as effective as a big scoop (with less effort). But, it's a big step down from a decent snow blower when you have a lot of snow to move.
Better choice: find a good quality ergonomically designed snow shovel you are comfortable using, and get a sturdy big scoop."
Review 4 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
January 19, 2008
By snowmanpei
from Cornwall,Pe
"For anyone that has snow to move it makes snow
shoving almost fun instead of hard back aching
work. It is easy to learn to use and after
about 5 minutes you will be a expert in the use of the wovel.
It takes hugh amounts of snow in one Wovel full than you can wheel it easily to were you
want to place the snow.
Great product and well built. Love it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor,
December 31, 2007
By DaveCalgary
"My mother is no stranger to shoveling the walk and drive way and was looking for an easier way to remove snow. She saw this product in a magazine and tracked it down to be purchased from Homedepot. I ordered the Wovel for her. We received the Wovel and waited with anticipation for snow. She tried it once and delcared it the worst purchase she has ever made. It catches every contraction joint and crack and when it is not stopping dead on a crack it doesn't do a very good job removing light snow and leaves any compacted snow behind. You still have to go back with a broom and a scraper. Double the work! My wife and I have since tried this shovel and we see no real purpose for this poorly designed product. It must have been invented in Florida."
Review 6 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wovel snow shovel,
February 28, 2007
By woveluser
from Hamilton ON
"Love this snow shovel- easy to use, and effortless compared to other snow shovels."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a shovel,
February 27, 2007
By jessie
from Repentigny, Quebec
"I am in my mid 70's and purchased the wovel shovel in order to, not only clear snow, but for excerise. This shovel is to live and die for. It is very easy to handle,butalso easy to store after use. Intend on using it for a garden decoration for the summer. I am very proud to be an owner of the Wovel Shovel"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as advertised...,
February 27, 2007
By Happy
"After purchasing the Wovel at the beginning of the winter, I have and will continue to recommend this shovel to all. It lives up to its claim of 1/2 the effort and 1/3 the time. Clearing the driveway without having to work up a sweat is a great aspect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing, 100 % recommended !!!!,
February 24, 2007
By agentcyborg007
from Howick, Quebec
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When I saw this product on television a few years ago, I thought that was a prank.
But really it really works, fast, easy and with no back pain at all.
Sometimes I remember seeing my father with a standard shovel but not he has one too. And he ain't going back to the standard shovel.
:)"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Great Shovel,
February 15, 2007
By Nexttolast
from Whitby, Ont
"I never thought this would work but with the snow fall we had over the last few days I'm glad I got it as a gift this Christmas. It made shoveling a breeze and I didn't have to worry about starting up the snowblower!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing and so simple,
January 20, 2007
By Ricklet
from Peterborough, ON
"When I opened the package to see what my daughter had purchased as my christmas present, I laughed. But I don't laugh now. It's easy to get the hang of the Wovel with a little practice and as my son in law says, "it's like going for a walk, no lifting, no tossing, just some fun in the snow." A great tool for this 62 year old, and it sure starts easier than my old snow blower. As the first reviewer says, " this product does not remove snow that is packed on walkways or driveways it does not apply the pressure needed to break and scrape", but remember it's a shovel on a wheel, not an ice scraper, and as a snow shovel it's a great invention."
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wovel wheel snow shovel on a wheel,
January 11, 2007
By outdoor worker
from canada bc
"this product is absolute garbage i am a owner of a landscape company and would not recomend this product to anybody specialy anyone who is elderly this product does not remove snow that is packed on walkways or driveways it does not apply the preshure needed to break and scrape that up also this product is way over priced a realy bad product that i know wont be here next winter save your money a regular snow shovel and a ice breaker will do a better job and will cost you alot less money"
40 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Wovel The Wovel - Snow Shovel On A Wheel
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best in it's class,
December 10, 2006
By Canada Bob.
from Charlottetown, PEI.
"I didn't know what to get my wife for Christmas, but she'd hinted a couple of times about an excercise machine.
There's lots of them to chose from, but as soon as I saw this, I just knew it would burn off a lot more calories than a rowing machine, that and it's seasonal too !
Should make for a great gift, I won't wrap it, just get it delivered, then throw a blanket over it in the garage.
Then when we've had our Christmas dinner I'll pour her a glass of sherry, and let her {sort of} unveil it !
It's a perfect gift, one that we can both enjoy !"
133 of 626 people found this review helpful.