Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit

The RIDGID ® 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit provides incredible flexibility, giving you the ability to get a job done no matter where it may be. When you''ve worked the drill to exhaustion, a self-ejecting battery pack makes removal a snap and it even lets you know in which direction to remove the battery while the 20-minute charger will have your battery ready to go again in no time. Protecting your work surface is no problem either with a battery overmold that prevents nicks and scratches.
Customer Rating:
4.562 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
46 of 48(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Review 1 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best cordless drill deal going,
May 7, 2008
By Knotty
"You get a lot of drill for the dollar with this model. The warranty and $99 price make this a super deal. I've been using this is a woodshop for a few months now, and it's operated flawlessly. The fast charger ensures you always have a batter ready to go. My only complaint is it’s a bit heavy to be using for long periods."
Review 2 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill !!,
March 8, 2008
By olerud363
from Markham, ON
"Bought this drill to replace a cheapie no-namer that I wrecked working in the basement. Should have spent the extra $$ in the first place. I'm a new home owner and am looking forward to many projects with my Ridgid drill.
The fast battery charge time and indicator lights on the charger are very handy. The metal collar on the chuck helps prevent damage to the chuck if the drill slips off the screw you're driving. The drill itself works perfectly and has ample power to handle any household DIY project. The lifetime warranty that even includes the batteries was the deciding feature for me. Definitely worth the price.
"
Review 3 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 volt,
January 13, 2008
By dsdm
from Kelowna BC
"Well, I have had this drill since christmas 2005, and it is now Jan 2008, and I am so pleased with this drill, I have not had a single problem with it and I use it every day, it is still smooth, batteries still hold up very well, it has been dropped countless times, batteries charged usually 2-7 times every week.
I reccommend this drill to every one it is excellant, and has exceeded all my expectation, and the lifetime warrenty is in writting, after you register (It took about 3 months to recieve it).
"
Review 4 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ridgid 18v Lithium Ion Compact Drill,
January 9, 2008
By mcandmc
from Nova Scotia
"Works well. the light is handy though a small shodow is thrown on the area being drilled/screwed. Gotta love the Lifetime Service Agreement. Worth a few more bucks. Imagine never having to buy another drill, battery or charger for as long as you own the drill... awesome!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sweet awesome wicked!,
December 20, 2007
By JMan9623
from Calgary
"This drill kit is flippin awesome! I got it on sale, and it was well worth the money I spent. The lifetime service agreement is gold, and its just a great tool. It is light, but still has some power to it, and the variable speed setting works like a charm. I would recomend this drill to anyone that is looking for a drill. Buy Rigid stuff-its great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this drill, it's my favourite tool!,
December 12, 2007
By jmatteis
from Chatham, Ontario
"I tell my wife all the time, "Have I told you recently, how much I love this drill?" Seriously, power, torque, quick charging, this drill is solid and strong. The one thing I like about it best, is the way the chuck tightens. As you are tightening it, you can feel it clicking at the end, completely tight, nothing has ever come loose in this. And I now own several Ridgid cordless tools, which now offers lifetime warranty on everything, including the batteries... You can't beat that, battery goes, you get a new one! Will be the last drill you will ever buy..."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
powerful,
December 9, 2007
By donnal
from toronto,ON
"Although compact and cordless, this drill is powerful enough for everyday jobs at home."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Drill,
December 3, 2007
By BudtheSpud
from Atlantic Canada
"This is a very nice drill, has a good solid feel and lot's of power. It's a bit on the heavy side but it still manages to hold a great balance, can't beat the LSA.
If your looking for something a little lighter but great performance you might consider the ridgid Lithium Ion compact drill/driver.
"
Review 9 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dependable,
November 28, 2007
By gleib
from Regina, SK
"Dependable and long lasting charge. A must for the serious do it yourselfer"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product for agreat price.,
November 21, 2007
By Yaac
from Hamilton, ON
"Until i purchased this drill i was using one of 3 different drills depending on the job. One for light duty, countersunk holes and cabinet building, one for heavy work (impact drill) lag bolts, fences and decks and of course the spare when a battery dies and you need to wait an hour or more to charge a battery. This Ridgid does it all. I have not pulled out my other drill since i purchased this drill 6 months ago. It's got a very responsive trigger, little power, lots of power its all there. It's balanced well and easy to control, and the brake although it throws some sparks it works well every time. My favorite feature is that i can kill a battery dead and put in the charger and it will be charged in 30 minutes or less. I have to work the second battery pretty hard to kill it in 30 minutes.
I have only had one problem with this drill. While working outside in the heat using the drill for some heavy work the battery would not charge, the light was blinking, so i looked it up and the pack was too hot to charge. I just waited for it to cool and it was fine.
Good luck"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best drill yet,
November 19, 2007
By Carpenter599
from Niagara Falls Region, ON
"This drill works on renovation projects as well as building custom furniture. Without a doubt it is the best drill yet, by far, in the 18v category. There is more than enough torque to set the largest screws or bolts. And with the Rapid Max charger, along with the 2 batteries included, this drill is able to work hour after hour with no signs of slowing down or giving up. The keyless chuck is a great improvement over earlier models & holds all drill bits/drivers solidly, never letting go. And having all contact points on the drill capped with rubber, I never worry about marking any of the furniture grade wood I use when I put the drill down. In other words, this is one of the best, if not the best, drills I have ever owned. It is well designed, well built & backed by the best warranty in the industry. I'd buy another without hesitation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pack a lot of PUNCH!,
November 11, 2007
By Nikonbuff
from Kitchener-Waterloo
"The purchase of this drill was an impulse buy as it was on a great sale price at the time and I was just starting a new deck project.
I was blown away by both the battery life and the power of the drill as it outperformed a 24V of another brand hands down and I ended up using this drill pretty much exclusively on the deck project.
Adjustable drive torque settings made installing a large amount of cedar decking a snap, as well as drilling pivots holes to avoid splitting the wood.
The chuck lock feature makes changing drill bits and drivers a breeze, especially up a ladder or on the roof.
The drill comes with two 18v batteries and a rapid charger which allows battery rotation without interruption to the construction project ... when one battery is discharged, the next is ready thanks to a short 20 minute charge time ...
definitely a must have tool!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
first cordless drill purchase,
November 8, 2007
By Dilly
from London, ON
"This was the first tool I purchased after becoming a first time home buyer. We were building a fence and I saw the benefit of having a cordless drill. I found the tool to have long battery life and great durability. It does start to feel pretty heavy after using it for a longer period of time."
Review 14 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surprised with the Performance,
August 24, 2007
By TomfromWhiteRock
from White Rock
"I picked up this drill when it went on sale. I was looking for a drill with a lithium ion battery but came across a deal I couldn't pass up.
I use the drill almost daily and have never been disappointed. Lots of power and the charge seems to last forever.The quick charge battery is very handy for bigger jobs. I have 2 batteries and never have problems.
I just bought the Rigid recip saw that uses the same battery. Can't beat the lifetime warrantee and the 90 day trial period on Rigid tools.
If the saw works as well as the drill I will only be buying Rigid in the future.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT BUY,
August 24, 2007
By EZ4U2SAY
from COMOX ,BC
"Bought this drill 6 months ago and it has been excellent. Told friends about it and they have all bought one, and no one has nothing but great things to say about it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
August 23, 2007
By Dave2
from Waterloo, ON
"This drill is a great product. I recently used it to put a lot of screws into the drywall sheets that I was hanging. The charger is quick, and the one-handed operation of the chuck is very well-designed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 20, 2007
By Megs
"My boyfriend bought this drill and he was soo impressed with it, so was I to be honest.. It came with a lifetime warranty for the batterys & does an amazing job!"
Review 18 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ridgid 18V,
August 14, 2007
By djmcb
from Winchester, ON
"I have owned a 18V B&D and 19.2 Craftsman and am I ever glad I bought this one. Nice weight, good torque, love the chuck and a great charge time. All around a great drill."
Review 19 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ridgid 18V drill,
July 22, 2007
By KMAN
from Kitchener, ON
"What a drill! Got it on sale for $99.99, which is amazing. Great power and balance, quick charge, and easy to handle. My brother has the Ryobi 1+ series of tools including the 18V drill, he couldn't believe the difference when he tried my Ridgid 18V. I am thrilled with this product and will gladly invest in more Ridgid products."
Review 20 for RIDGID RIDGID 18V 1/2 In. Compact Drill Kit
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good but not perfect, I'd buy it again at $99,
July 22, 2007
By Jackofall
from Ottawa, ON
"The one, first and most important question you always have to ask is, given the opportunity, would you buy it again? YES I would, but at the $99 sale. It's missing at least one primary feature to make it worth at lot more, like the $249 regular price, which is a fully metal chuck. Generally, it's a strong as you'd expect an 18V to be, VERY smooth from low through high range (nearby workers have commented on it's smooth sound), and while the battery doesn't last any more or less time than other comparable drills the 20 minute charger is irreplaceable and a highly a desireable feature. It is a little heavy, but that shoudln't be considered a knock against it since it's not marketed as a light drill and at 18V its weight shouldn't be a primary consideration. Finally with a lifetime warranty (batteries included), you CANNOT GO WRONG! Put a metal housing on the chuck and it's FIVE STARS for every other feature."