Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier

This 12-gallon daily output capacity Flow-Through Humidifier provides a clean and effective way to humidify your home by constantly rinsing the evaporator pad
Customer Rating:
2.957 of 5
3.0
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
9
11 of 20(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Review 1 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced older Wait 5000 with this one.,
September 14, 2014
By bottleneck70
from Calgary, AB
"I bought this with hesitation (due to reviews) to replace an older Wait 5000 that I have had for a long time. The cut-out is a little bigger and the controls are on the side (exposed) now instead of on the head (covered). The over-all design is a little better compared to the older model 5000. It also operates differently than the previous model. It doesn't automatically kick-in when your furnace starts. It has a sensor that determines if your furnace is heating or cooling (A/C), then it starts after a minute or so if it sensed a change in heat (not cooling). This is explained in the instructions. Not sure if the previous reviewers read this in the install manual. Overall it works better than my last one and I would recommend it to people who read instructions."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap.... with reason.,
November 9, 2013
By Racer272
"Bought this as it closely resembled the humidifier in my previous home and it was on sale. Not sure if it was the same model I owned before.
Installed easy enough. Unit is pretty poorly built, cover does not seal very well and is held on by only one plastic screw.
Does not flow water when installed as per instructions. Trouble shooting guide directs you to 5 different DIP switch settings. the last requires you to purchase a pressure switch from the manufacturer.
Ultimately I got it to work by wiring it into my furnace humidifier control. Furnaces built in this century have this option, the instructions should include this option.
Overall I would have rather spent more money for a better built unit. Already cut holes in duct work for this thing so return is not an option."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fixed the problem,
February 11, 2013
By KenL
from Oshawa, ON
"After calling support on the product the tech guy said to check the upper tube, The brass connector gets clogged up.
Mine was sealed shut.
I drilled it out with a 3/64 bit and the water flows fine now.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Extremely Disappointed,
January 4, 2013
By Rotten
"Yes it was easy to install and I gave it time to work but after a few weeks there is no water flow to the unit. I have tried the troubleshooting manual, reset the switches and checked all possible sources. The solenoid clicks on and off immediately despite all the various configurations. I shouldn't have to buy a pressure switch in an attempt to remedy the problem. Would I buy another one? Not on your life. I am very sorry that I didn't heed the others' advice."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Expect issues if you have a newer furnace,
January 4, 2013
By js1234
"The sensor in the humidifier turns the water on when it senses a temperature change - it has to increase at more than 4 C/minute and be above 30 C. This works fine with an older single stage furnace that preheats and then turns the fan on full at power. With a two stage furnace with a variable speed blower, the temperature increase may be too gradual to turn the unit on. In that case, you will have to call the company to get an additional sensor to work around the problem.
So the unit can be made to work, but the manufacturer should either modify the product so it works reliably with the newer furnaces, or acknowledge the issue on the box and in the installation manual."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product Does Not Work,
October 24, 2012
By YogiBear
from Toronto, On
"This product does not work.
I have a high efficency furnance and the humidifier needs a pressure sensor which you can order from AirKing for $30 if you can get through on the help line. They do not tell you this on the outside packaging of the product.
When I finally got through after 2 days of trying, the help representative was arrogant and wanted me to mail her a copy of my sales receipt as proof of purchase.
It is unfair to customers to make them buy an extra $30 part. It seems that the need for the pressure sensor is a common problem. This was not a guarantee either that it would work.
I was also dissapointed in the quality of construction (I bought the Wait 5000 to replace an existing Wait humidifier which was much better constructed).
I will be returning this model and purchasing a different brand."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wait 6000 12 gallon flow through humidifier,
January 23, 2012
By pilotj
from Ottawa, Ontario
"They don't work!!! Unbelievable!!!
Bought 4 units, none of them worked.
The first unit indicated 20% humidity which was correct but after setting a target of 45% humidity the water would not flow.
The second unit out of the box had a broken LCD display.
The third unit indicated 40% humidity which is impossible and
after setting a target of 50% the unit triggered the solenoid valve
for about 5 seconds and then shut off, again no water flow.
The fourth unit indicated 30% humidity and after setting a
target of 40% again like the other units, no water flow.
The quality of these units look poor,
and they don't work.
How can a local Ontario company put out such a poor product?
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 8 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WAIT! Before you buy a WAIT 5000 read this,
December 30, 2011
By Doug38
from Burlngton
"I have now purchased 4 of these units and yet to get any of the 4 to work. I did it the first time and to no shock to anyone it didn't work. I had it professionally installed and guess what it didn't work. I was told the sellinod was gone on it. So I replaced the sellinod and guess what it didn't work. I was told to replace the power supply. I replace the power supply and yes it still didn't work. I took the unit back and exchanged it for another one. It worked for 3 months and then no go the following winter and of course the 1 year warranty was up. So I bought a new one this year, had it professionally installed it would not work. I took it back for another and installed it and same issue the green light flashes on and off and no water goes through the fliter as the control pannel was not working. So I took it back and now search elsewhere. The other problem is the switch "123" on and off are far too complicated to figure out. This thing is a waste of money avoid this and the 6000. Spend more to get the better one or get one from your home comfort supplier."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 9 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wait 5000,
November 8, 2010
By avondale56
from Edmonton,AB
"I'm a pretty handy guy with lots of experiences to back me up. And even though the installation instructions were not great and hard to follow,the installation was very sucessful and the DVD was a good help. But since the installation(and it was comfirmed to be correct) the humidity level in my home only rose 5%,from 35 to 40. I need more than that for my hardwood floors,but the Wait 5000 is not capable of providing me with more,even under ideal circumtances. I.E. no fireplace,low in and out traffic,no carpets,new windows and weather stripping,etc... I could remove the unit and try something else,but what am i suppose to do with the giant holes in my furnace ducts? Customer service(the 1-800 number) was not very helpful either and was basically a waste of time! I would not recomend this product to anyone,under any circustances. I am very dissapointed and now am looking at secondary portable humidifiers to complement what the Wait 5000 should be doing in the first place :("
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 10 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy Installation,
October 31, 2010
By Success
"I was convinced that I can install this humidifier myself after reading and watching the instructional video. I enjoy doing things myself and this was a complete success. Took a bit longer due to the overlapping metal sheet but otherwise pretty straight forward. I have yet to experience the effectiveness of this product since it's been only 24 hours. Anyway this product is highly recommended by Home depot and a lot cheaper than the comprable Honeywell with the same configuration. The pad is on sale as well so I stocked up for the next 5 years."
Review 11 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install,
March 16, 2009
By Craigger
from Calgary, AB
"I am no handyman, but installing this was dead simple.
Drill a couple holes, make a couple cuts (with tin snips, time consuming).
I did some reading earlier and was unsure of wiring the 'transformer'. The transformer is that big black box plugin that is present on almost every electrical device ha! You simply have to splice one of the wires on it to your humidistat and plug the thing in. Very easy.
I did however make use of my old humidifiers water line to save some hassle there."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more dry skin!,
February 20, 2009
By Uggepa
from Ottawa, ON
"Our family was dealing with dry skin and eczema due to the dry conditions of Canadian winters. We had an old drum humidifier that no longer could be of use due to the amount of mold and bacteria growth on it. We replaced it with this new humidifier. It took a few days for the dry skin to go away but ever since it hasn't come back, bloody noses that we got often were eliminated, dogs fur has no more flakes on her fur from dry skin. Excellent product and I think it is essential in a household. Definitely recommend it."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 13 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good choice for a home humidifier.,
January 24, 2008
By Simpledude
from Kitchener, ON
"I've had this unit installed for a year now with no problems. I like the fact there is no drum for the bacteria to build up on, only a filter which can be cleaned on a regular basis."
Review 14 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A must in the rwinter,
March 9, 2007
By thol
"Any humidifier is a must in the winter if you want to breath without a dry throat through the night. I bought this unit twice as their was a problem after the second year with the solenoid. The cost of replacement was 3/4's the price of a new unit.
Second generation unit had different dimensions, thus had to cut some more on the intake.
These units are much cleaner and sanitary than a drum unit. filter replacement is quick and easy.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install and does the job well,
February 14, 2007
By Dan
from Ottawa Ont
"It was easy to install. It raised the humidity to the level I wanted withing a few days. The only thing I recommend is not to use the humidistat that comes with it. Do not install the humidistat into the duct it may fall in. I used the one on my thermostat and it works and maintains the humidity perfectly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great,
February 8, 2007
By Anonymous
"This is my 3rd year with this product and it is great and trouble free."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfied - Works fine.,
January 14, 2007
By Anonymous
from Oakville, ON
"I have installed 2 of these over the last year. One in Barrie and 1 in Oakville.
Both are working fine - so far.
Less efficient but much better for maintenace than the drum types. But if you have hard water, keep an eye on the drain lines for clogging. Flush the lines once or twice per year.
Am working on a third installation.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
January 14, 2007
By dunc
from Okotoks
"Would not recomend to anyone. Had mine for two years it failed within the second year and still doesnt work.Humidistat fails as well as the sensor for hot air that turns the unit on."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Humidifier,
January 6, 2007
By Jack of all Trades
from Carstairs, AB
"I have used this humidifier in both my homes; it has given me trouble free service for years, with regular maintenance like shutting off the water and checking for leaks, (which there has been none). I have only had to replace the solenoid once. When you buy this humidifier, buy 2 evaporator pads; change every 6 months, clean the dirty one in vinegar in a glass cooking pan, rinse, let dry, put away for next change out. This is an excellent product but could be a less expensive, but a healthy family is worth the extra 50 bucks isn't it? It is a million times better than the tray models that are a PAIN to clean and if you forget to clean them, the bacteria which builds up can make your family sick, quick. My family is healthier because of the Wait 5000 humidifier!! Simple replacement, A1 product, I know humidifiers. P.S. Check and make sure you have a floor drain close by to run the overflow into before you buy a flow through humidifier. I would not buy any other humidifier! No this is not an internal Home Depot Review; I didn't get paid to write this; Real customer here."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
December 6, 2006
By renoron
from Ottawa
"product failed within 10 months and Air King "Wait" refused to do anything with in reason to fix the problem. Stick with the old technology AK850 1/4 the price"
37 of 40 people found this review helpful.