Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower

Gardena Hand reel mower 380C. Deluxe non-friction, silent cylinder hand reel mower with folding handle bar. Virtually contact-free cutting cylinder, cutting width of 38cm (15.2 In.). Infinitely adjustable cutting height from 12-42mm, control scale for cutting height on both sides. Maintenance free, ball bearing- hardened blade roll and bottom blades.
Customer Rating:
4.44 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
23 of 25(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Review 1 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gardena push reel mower,
September 16, 2012
By Hobart
from GTA
"Despite all the snickers and sneers from the males around me when I said I was going to buy a push reel mower, I can only say I'm so glad I did! It's easy to use - works in tall or wet grass, pushes easily, much quieter than gas or electric - and no running out of battery or fuel. You get a bit of a workout, but once you become familiar with its use and mow once or twice a week, you'll find that workout is gone. My lawn is about 1500 sq ft. I look forward to mowing - yes, despite those same snickers and sneers."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
July 28, 2012
By Trive
from Toronto
"it works very well, good machine, better than others, it no need any other cost like gas, power..etc. save $ and time."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 3 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower,
July 2, 2012
By chrm
from vancouver
"Wish the product is sold in store as well as online.
Need to assemble the parts together per instructions.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 4 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NO more gasoline,
July 2, 2012
By whfwan
from calgary,ab
"I purchased this reel mower because I don't like the idea of using gas-powered lawn mower. It took me less then 20 min to assemble; no tools required. It is easy to push, light and you can fold the handle down for storage. My lawn is not a level lot and it works just fine, some spot do need a few more stroke thou."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good mower,
June 21, 2012
By grog
from Toronto, ON
"Very happy with the purchase.
Pros:
- Cuts great and is pretty easy to push. Cuts well even before it's up to full speed.
- Folding handle is fantastic for space-challenged city dwellers like me.
Cons (minor):
- Somewhat tricky assembly process. The diagrams and text leave a lot to the imagination, so it took me a few tries to get the handle together. Some cursing was necessary so assemble away from small children.
- Plastic parts *feel* a bit fragile since they're very flexible, but they didn't break when I was putting them on the wrong way during assembly so this isn't much of a criticism. Remains to be seen how long they will last, though.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 6 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for a small lawn,
June 14, 2012
By WhyMustIUseUniqueNickName
from Waterloo, ON
"I liked that it doesn't require fuel/electricity. It's light enough that it's easy to push, and it cuts short grass really well. Longers grass needs a couple quick back-and-forth passes, but that's to be expected.
Once it got too much long grass wrapped around the wheel axles and they stuck, so I had to stop to pull it out. Other than that, no problems.
Seems to be of sturdy construction."
Review 7 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Joy to Cut the Lawn,
June 14, 2012
By ChuckinToronto
from Toronto
"I had a 20 year-old Gardena push-mower that was still working but needed new wheels. Rather than buy new wheels I purchased a brand new Gardena. It is even better than the old one. My 6 year old daughter can use it to cut the grass! No joke; it is so easy to use. It is quiet, requires no fuel, omits no smells and does a great job. The blades are like those used on golf-course mowers rather than the 'helicopter' type which ofter tear the grass and scalp the ground on uneven sections. For $236.00 it will pay for itself as no fuel and maintenance is necessary. Sharpening simply involves adjusting the cutting bar, just like the old-one. It is very light and easy to push. Assembly took about 20 minutes, again my 6-year helped. Cutting the grass is a pleasant experience. Delivery took about 10 days and cost $8. What a deal."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 8 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the extra money,
May 24, 2012
By Clinton
from Calgary, AB
"We upgraded this from our current Scotts reel mower. It is in another class. Is super quiet, and it feels much more sturdy. It is apparently made in Germany, and it sure feels better quality.
The name is a bit weird, of course it is cordless, it is powered by you.
The assembly instructions were not quite as good as I'd hoped but I managed. Part of the problem was there was an addendum due to a mistake in how it connects to the handles but it was loose and not tucked in the page where it should go.
As far as performance, it cut our 6" overgrown grass better than expected. anything missed got cut on the second pass. There are lots of height settings, many more than gas ones that I've used.
As the wheels are a bit wider than some other models, it does leave a larger area along fences etc that need to be trimmed by an edge trimmer.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 9 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gardena lawnmower not quite as good as neighbour's,
May 20, 2012
By DCToronto
from Toronto
"Our immediate neighbour occasionally lent us his gardena lawnmower, and we found it effective and quiet. But the lawnmower we purchased seemed larger, heavier, harder to push, and, unfortunately, in need of alignment when it arrived, which is a tricky business."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well so far,
May 17, 2012
By GardenaFan
from Toronto, ON
"Minor assembly was very easy and so far the mower works very well. The lawn was overgrown and thick when we cut it. but the mower ploughed through without issue and the cut is very even all around. Enjoying how quiet this one is compared to our old non-Gardena brand mower!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 11 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No set up time means more frequent mowing.,
April 11, 2012
By ReasonableReview
from Vancouver
"Pros: light (less than 1/2 the weight of the Lithium Ion powered version), quick (nothing to set up when you want to start mowing), cuts really nice.
Cons: none so far.
The great thing about this, and I suppose all, push reel mowers is that you don't have to do anything to get going. Just pull it out (and its light enough to carry easily) and start mowing. Since it is so easy to get going, it is easier to mow more often and maintain a better looking and healthier lawn. Also, by mowing often, you don't have to (and I think you shouldn't) bag the clippings.
I also have a Briggs & Stratton gas mower, but I hate having to get gas, fill it up (and usually spilling a bit on me or the mower), and cleaning and maintaining the beast. I find the push reel mower is no more difficult to push than the gas mower, since the gas mower weighs 5 times more. The gas mower also gets really filthy with the grass clippings getting packed into the bottom of the mower. The reel mower stays very clean and is really easy to use. I think I would prefer to use this on even a fairly large lawn, as it is so easy to push and cuts so well.
This reel mower takes up very little room. I can lean it up against the wall and it only sticks out about one foot from the wall. The gas mower takes up a 2x5 foot plot of land to store (due to the handle (which doesn't move/isn't adjustable).
As for the height of the grass problem mentioned in other reviews, I had no problem with grass about 5 or 6 inches long, and at the highest setting, I find the grass longer than I'd usually like it. You may need 2 passes for long grass. If you want to cut really long grass in one pass down to 2 inches, then you're probably better off with a powered mower, or hiring someone to mow your lawn for you at least monthly.
I can't compare with other reel mowers, but this one runs very smoothly and quietly, is easy to push, and cleans up very easily when needed. I wish a had gotten one of these years ago."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gardena 360 C Lawn mower,
May 2, 2011
By Jim51
from Calgary, AB
"After decades of experience with various power mowers we decided to scrap our last one and go green. Picked up a Gardena 360 C push mower and haven't looked back. No more gas cans, stalling and cursing.... Tne Gardena's are actually easier and lighter to push and are dead quiet. Might have to make a few passes when the grass is high and the 15" swath is a bit narrow, but the chore is so much more pleasant it's hardly noticeable. Oh yes, also have to. Clean up any loose stones and small sticks, otherwise the blade will jamb."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spring/Fall Mower.,
May 2, 2010
By Normo
from Penetanguishene, ON
"Great mower but not for all seasons.
If you want to go environmentally friendly this is the mower for you. If you care about your lawn, this is "one of" the tools you can use during the year without having to mow with a gas mower all year.
I love my Gardena, but it's highest cut is 42mm (1.64") which is fine during the sping and fall months but NOT in the hot summer heat. Grass kept at 3" during hot dry times will resist drout better, choak out invading weeds better, stay greener and more lush while a 1.64" cut will dry out your soil and harm your grass during the hot months!
Pros:
Cuts like sissors! Less mess and better for your grass blades.
Cons:
Does not handle tall grass well (just folds it over).
Cuts too short for hot/dry season.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower!,
May 1, 2010
By anon123
"I just bought this mower today. It was very easy to put together. I had long grass but a few passes of the mower and it was easily cut. It is a light mower and easy to maneuver. It is a manual mower so it does take some effort but not much."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good mower for short grass only,
June 9, 2008
By bedbug
"Bought this mower a year ago, been fairly happy with it ... WHEN THE GRASS IS SHORT!! If you let the grass grow for two weeks or more, I would definitely not recommend this mower, it will just go right over the grass, it simply does not cut it. If you are cutting every week, or every week and a half, then the mower works pretty well. I have found however, that i still had to go over a few spots a couple of times.
Would recommend this mower if you are going to be diligent with your mowing. If you are mowing every two weeks or so, then this is NOT the mower for you.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Going Green,
May 28, 2008
By NeilF123
"Needing a new lawn mower, I wanted to go green, but was hesitant to buy a push reel model for a fair-sized lawn. Not wanted to deal with an electrical cord or not comfortable with the likelihood of having to replace rechargeable batteries every couple of years, I decided to take the plunge and buy the Gardena push model. After getting the Home Depot staff to help put the handle together, I'm happy that I chose this one. The handle is comfortable and durable, as opposed to foam handles on other brands. Another plus is that it's fairly easy to maneuver (much lighter than the Scott's 20"). Good cutting action as well.
Took me about a half an hour on each the front and back lawn, but it was the first time I used it and the grass was high in some areas. Some advice is to rake up any lawn waste (ie. sticks, pine cones, etc.) before starting as this will cut down on the time taken.
So far, so good!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noticeably better results than my gas mower,
May 5, 2008
By Centauri27
from Vancouver, BC
"After cursing the noise and pollution from my old gas mower for years, I finally took the plunge and ponied up the big $$$ for this Gardena model. After comparing the manual version to the electric one, I decided to go manual because I didn't want the hassles of replacing the batteries every few years (at $100 a pop) or discover the mower needs charging just as I needed it.
I've used the Gardena for several mowings now and I'm extremely pleased with the results: my lawn looks noticeably nicer than with the old gas mower. Having said this, everything you've read about reel mowers is true:
- Don't be fooled by the seeming effortlessness in pushing the Gardena while at the store. Since the blades don't actually brush against any cutting surface, it would appear to require NO effort in pushing it. In actual use, it DOES require some muscle power.
- If your grass is long, you WILL need to go over the same spot several times, like running a vacuum cleaner. However, if the grass is not overly long, you can literally SPRINT down your lawn and the mower acts like a precision scalpel with very little push effort required.
- Be sure to buy the optional grass catcher. It works wonders .
- Reel mowers are NOT good if you have twigs and branches on the grass, as it jams the blades quite easily (and gives a disconcerting clank when it does).
- Unlike rotary mowers of old that require expensive blade sharpening, this Gardena model is claimed to be "self sharpening"--you simply twiddle some screws when the blade dulls and it'll sharpen itself against the metal platen. Haven't tried this feature yet though.
- The mower is so LIGHT and quiet, it's actually a pleasure to mow your lawn now. You can take a deep breath (rather than holding your breath) and get a bit of exercise. And you feel so much more environmentally responsible!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy and efficient,
September 7, 2007
By frequentshopper
"I bought this mower a year ago, and have found it to be a great machine. Although more expensive than some reel mowers, its light weight justifies the cost. I have suffered from back pain in years past, and I have no difficulty mowing my suburban lawn with the gardena."
Review 19 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower,
June 20, 2007
By Timm
from Ottawa, On
"Environmentally friendly, great cut, but not for the lazy. Clean lawn mower with a little exercise to boot. I have a trimmed yard without the guilt!"
Review 20 for Gardena Cordless Hand Reel Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a useless lawn mower,
June 11, 2007
By Bear
from Stouffville, ON
"I was about to select the one of Gardena Cordless 12V Accu lawn mower or Gardena Cordless Hand Reel version. I asked one of Home Depot associates to see which one is better. His answer was Hand Reel version is a better choice simply because it is lighter and do not require power. I asked 2 questions in particular - "Do I need to push back and forth for the same spot?" and "Is it ok if my lawn is kind of long?". His reply was "Don't worry, it is very sharp and everything will be ok". When I used it, it was not functional as the associate described. I need to push back and forth to cut one spot and I got stuck several times because the lawn are too long. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT, IT WILL NOT HELP YOU."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.