Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher

Make a yard of difference and eliminate labourious bagging of yard and garden waste with the Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater. The Leaf Eater quickly and efficiently shreds leaves, pine needles, grass clippings, even paper, wet or dry. Reduce eleven bags of leaves and garden waste down to only one bag of nutrient rich mulch. Saves time and money on leaf bags and trash pickups. Use during spring, summer and fall for ecological and economical yard clean ups.
Customer Rating:
4.216 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
27 of 29(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Review 1 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome!,
May 3, 2014
By Gourmet4U
from Dartmouth, ns
"I wish I had known about this product two years ago. Our property is covered with maple trees. The flowtron does a wonderful job. I could not be happier."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Defective legs; adequate performance,
March 18, 2014
By RiverdaleGardener
from Toronto, ON
"I purchashed a unit in November 2013. The metal legs could not be assembled because the holes were not drilled properly. I called the vendor and they promptly sent me a replacement pair. But the new pair is also defective! Now I just hold them together with duct tape.
The plastic havles of the hopper also do not align properly. I tried to gently tap the pins together with a mallet and they broke so more duct tape was involved.
As for the performance of its shredding mechanism, it is competent and does reduce dry leaves into a fine mulch. Operation is very messy and noisy -- wearing safety goggles and ear protection is essential. It is also handly to have a stick with you to help push the leaves through to keep a continuous workflow. The elastic under the machine is not really strong enough to hold a plastic bag properly without constant adjustment so sit the machine on top of a garbage bin to collect the mulch and save your sanity.
At this price point this machine is the only game in town so I guess I should be grateful that it even works -- fingers crossed that it won't break within 12 months."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shreddies,
November 20, 2013
By marphil71
from Sudbury, ON
"bought this online, i use the fine setting and it
destroys leaves down to tiny pieces
pros: mulches too tiny pieces, easy to use, good
for composting
con: seems to eat the weed eater line fast,
maybe company will eventually modify with some
sort of steel blade
I would recommend this product
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leaf Eater,
November 15, 2013
By Ihateleaves
from Brantford, Ontario
"The unit works very well reducing the amount of leaves I needed to get into those ridiculous paper bags.
I did not attempt other shrubs and flowers as I was not sure if the unit could take them in.
The size and weight are a bit difficult for a women on her own but you get the hang of it eventually.
Replacing the shredder wires was simple and fast.
I highly recommend the unit and am crossing my fingers that it will continue to work for me long into the future.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flowtron Leaf Mulcher,
November 14, 2013
By Jimmyboy
from Kingston, ON
"Assembly was difficult with poor fit of the feed hopper to the base. Ended securing it all with duct tape. Finish is poor as the drilled holes for the legs were not clear. However, once assembled it has worked well on mulching dry and wet leaves. Will not take large sticks and the wire of the whipper wears out quickly requiring changing after about 45 minutes of use of leaf mulching."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 6 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
design needs upgrades,
November 14, 2013
By Leafguy
from Roxboro, QC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The design of this unit could have been better. Assembly: The first thing is that the black cone shape should have come as 1 piece instead of 2. You need to line up pins on both halfes and they all snaped on me. Also it wasn't user friendly to attach this cone to the housing, pins did not line up properly due to its cone shape and the pins snaped at this location as well. Would have been simpler if this cone was screwed to the housing instead of plastic clips that ended up cracking the plastic when I tried removing it to realign the pins. Operation: inside the unit were the cutting lines are, they should have put a circular piece of sheet metal liner about 5" high to protect the outer shell from flying debris. A small branch hit the plastic housing wall which isn't very thick in my opinion and made a good size hole right at the seam (see photo) the chunk of plastic flew about 10 feet away. Luckily it wasn't in my direction.
They do have great customer service to replace these parts, but I'm disapointed considering that this machine was built in the USA. Needs re-engineering and design upgrades to work out these bugs.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 7 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Leaf Eating,
November 14, 2013
By Chickmagnet
from West Vancouver
"Very efficient and easy to use. Light weight makes it convenient to move. Assembling the hopper was a bit of a challenge."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 8 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome,
November 14, 2013
By Dory
from Salmon Arm
"This is the most awesome mulcher.. I have a maple tree and it shredded the leaves down into 7 small piles. So easy to use as well. Gets plugged up, but only when leaves are wet. It is so cool. Says ultimate mulcher... and it is."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 9 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impressive-does as advertised,
November 10, 2013
By bugsanddirt
"I purchased the Flowtron online and waited approx 6 days for delivery. The unit came moslty assembled, the only items left to attach were the hopper and handle.
The instructions were pretty straight forward, and the complete assembly took me less than half an hour. The plastic hopper is slightly akward to assemble, in that it comes in two halves which, need allignment with a couple of plastic tabs. (I broke one of them).
Once the tabs are aligned and inserted in the appropriate hole of oposing hopper piece, simply secure both hopper pieces together using two of the screws provided.
The other glitch I had when assembling the unit, was that the holes in
the metal stand were not drilled or punched out completely, and needed some modifying/prying with a scredriver in order for the holes to be able to receive the fastening bolts. It was not a big deal to remedy however; one would think this would be picked up by some sort of quality control?
The machine itself works great. I have mainly large maple leaves in our yard and some were wet when putting into the machine. They mulched quite nicely however, if you wish, you can run the leaves thru twice, allowing for a finer end result. The machine does have several different shredding sizes and one speed for the motor.
The cutting blade is similar to that of a traditional weed wacher (.80 nylon) and seems to last. After four hours of intermittent use, I still have not replaced the line. The company does send you additional line and info on how to obtain more.
Make sure you wear safety glasses as the occasssional piece of debris tends to fly out of the hopper. As well, the engine noise is annoying enough that it warrants the use of ear protection.
Although very impessed, I canot give it a full 5 stars simply because it is not made for commercial use. It is perfect for the home owner and is light enough to move around the yard. I set mine up in the garden on top of a garbage can, and emptied the mulched material into my compost bins and garden beds.
Finally, if you are not willing to purchase this machine but like the idea of mulching leaves, you can put your leaves in a garbage can and use a traditional weed wacker to mulch them (it works pretty good however, you may need to shake the can up - to get at all of the leaves)
Happy gardening"
Review 10 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
electric leaf eater shredder and mulcher,
April 15, 2012
By margarita
from Calgary
"There were some scratches on the funnel part, indicating that someone else had tried to put the mulcher together.
The instructions to put the funnel together were not clear. It mentioned "flanges" and indicated only the ones in the middle. What about the ones that were near the top and the bottom.
The plastic pins that are supposed to fit in the hole in the main part of the shredder do not align. Once the funnel was clipped in to the red body, the pins came out.
It does mulch very well, and suits my purposes"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher,
April 7, 2012
By Ciao
from S. Ontario
"Only moderately robust. Should have another level of spinner as well in the inside to shred. However it is one of the few low priced ones on the market, it seems, suitable for grasses and leaves. The feed in area is good, the option of a bag on the bottom is good.. it just doesn't much as efficiently as it should because the whizzing mechanism is at the very bottom. A slight change in design could make it much better."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 12 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Super shredder,
April 1, 2012
By Citygardening
from Toronto, ON
"The Flowtron made quick work of the oak leaves that covered my garden beds over the winter, shredding them into light, fluffy mulch that I'll mix with compost and use to topdress my beds over the summer. After using a few disappointing shredders, I was more than pleased with the performance of the Flowtron."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good machine,
November 12, 2011
By Monty7
from Gibsons, B.C.
"This thing really chews through the leaves. Helps if they're dry, though. The advertised reduction rate of 30 to 1 is a tad optimistic. But it knocked down my big maple leaves into a fine mulch. I've been using it for days now and really have no complaints.
Eye and ear protection is a must.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Electric Leaf Eater,
November 8, 2011
By Kirknotjim
from Richmond Hill, Ontario
"This is a very good product. It's great for mulching leaves and it's easy to re-feed the coarse mulch to create a finer end-product.
I usually fill about 30 bags each fall and send them to the curb, always disappointed that I couldn't put them to some practical use in my garden; now I can!
I shred about three bags of leaves on the weekend and spread the mulch over my vegetable garden; it was barely an inch high.
I look forward to mixing it into my soil as I turn over the garden next week.
Drawbacks:
The mulcher really bogs down if there are twigs or other hard material in the leaf piles; you have to frequently stop the machine and pull out the material.
Minor issue: The frame is not really sturdy; if the ground is uneven, the mulcher will wobble and possibly fall over. It needs careful attention before starting it up.
Minor issue: The hopper can be rotated which is a good idea; but the locking handles need a lot of pressure to tighten them."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 15 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher,
November 7, 2011
By Pcklr
"Product works well.
Assembly is a pain.
The stand is too low to efficiently fill the leaf bags. Had to mount the Flowtron on top of two cinder blocks turned on end.
At normal setting and based on a mix of maple, elm and beech leaves I found it would compress 5 equivalent bags down to one.
Safety glasses are a must when operating.
"
Review 16 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flowtron Leaf Shredder,
October 29, 2011
By Anonymous
"Great product!! I have been using it for 1 week and wished I had bought it before. It's not loud so you won't bother the neighbors. The nylon chords which do the shredding work great for dry leaves but wet leaves tend to wear them out faster. Overall, I give it a 5 star rating."
Review 17 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Short work of it,
October 20, 2011
By McDoom
from Calgary AB
"I have used my new Flowtron leaf shredder three times since taking delivery of it. We have an abundacne of large trees in our area and we run six compost bins. In years past the tendency of leaves stored over winter to become compressed has the effect of slowing our composting process. We have dramaticaly reduced the volume of leaves already collected this autumn bu using the shredder. Just be careful in dropping the handsful into the shredder, picking out the larger twigs that tend to colect with the leaves. Running the materials through twice, first coarse, then finer, as recomended in the manual, tends to work best. I am eager to see how our over-winter composting progresses with the finer texture of the composting materials."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 18 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flotron Leaf shredder.,
October 16, 2011
By jonan1
from Brandon Mb..
"The leaf shredder works very well, breaks down the leaves quickly so I was able to feed it continuously especially if the leaves are dry, not so fast with damp leaves. I made the cut coarser which helped. The unit is light & easy to move around & the whips are easy to replace when broken or worn out. Only down side is not being able to handle small twigs & branches very well, leaves & small branches do go together & trying to separate was a frustration. Over all it sure cut down on the number of trips I had to make to my compost area with the wheel barrow which also cut down the clean up time etc."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 19 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent machine for the money,
October 3, 2011
By Yardguy
from Saskatoon Sk
"Does exactly what it is designed to do...shred dry leaves and grass. I tortured mine and put dry garden waste through it. Apart from wearing the cutting strings faster it chewed right through it. Replacing cutting strings is fast and easy and you can just buy a roll of string trimmer string of the same gauge and cut it to length.
This is a light weight light duty machine so if you want to forced feed it sticks and twigs you and the machine won't be happy.. buy a gas powered unit. If you want something thats is easy to operate , easy to store and requires very little maintenance this unit fits the bill for general purpose leaf and grass shredding.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 20 for Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flowtron Electric Leaf Eater Shredder and Mulcher,
May 21, 2011
By Arnold
from Shelburne, NS
"The LE-900 Can C is a vast improvement over my old Flowtron which had only one speed. It does an excellent job of mulching leaves if you follow the instructions and use the coarse followed by fine shredding to create mulch. I am very satisfied with this model.
I find the stand not particularly stable on grass and prefer to sit the shredder on a garbage can lined with a plastic bag.
As for the instructions that come with the shredder, they leave a lot to be desired .
The Hardware Bag Contents according to the Manual is quite different from what comes with the machine. You might imagine that the Addendum sheet would correct this difference, but it adds to the confusion as it is different from what the manual says and from what is in the package. The instruction manual diagrams need to be adjusted to correspond to the parts of layout of the Flowtron housing--- one of the two locator pins did not exist on my machine and the flanges do not look like what the Addendum sheet diagrams show.
Delivery time on the Home Depot order was excellent. It was estimated that it would arrive within 5 business days and it arrived in 4.
Ratings
Home Depot delivery schedule 5 stars
Product operation 5 stars
Instructions and ease of putting together 2 stars
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.