Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic

This 12-gallon daily output capacity Flow-Through Humidifier features a digital programmable control with electronic humidistat provides a clean and effective way to humidify your home by constantly rinsing the evaporator pad
Customer Rating:
2.727 of 5
2.7
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
14
12 of 28(43%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Review 1 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A fix for some of the issues people are having,
January 24, 2014
By MNRD
from Pickering, ON
"I purchased this product earlier this week and the installation went smoothly... Until it was time to test the system. I turned on the water, powered it up and waited for the next heating cycle to kick on. Everything seemed to be working as described, with one minor detail. There was no water running through the system. It was making it to the solenoid/valve, but there was no water getting through. So I checked to make sure there was no blockages and even tested with the old solenoid from my old humidifier. It opened and closed just fine. So I re-connected the supplied solenoid to the power, but didn't re-attach to the unit, I forced the heating cycle back on and it opened and closed the valve just fine. I was stumped.
None of it made sense. Then I thought, the issue has to be below the valve. I looked at the hose that comes out from the valve and feeds water to the unit itself (which comes pre-attached). I disconnected it and pulled out the metal insert. There was no hole in the insert! it was blocking all water into the unit. I removed it and replaced it with one from my old unit and voila! Niagara falls! Water was pouring out of the unit like crazy! So I turned the water supply off, then just opened it a quarter turn and now everything is functioning as it should.
So, two things to take away from this (or take into account if you purchase one): 1) check the hose that comes pre-attached to the unit to make sure there is a proper insert in it; and 2) Only turn your water on slightly."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Issues.,
April 8, 2013
By darrenf442
"The unit itself and how it works i really like. No motor or foam barrel. But i installed the unit into my high efficiency furnace and it wouldn't work. i turned a hair dryer on the heat sensor and it worked fine. spent two days messing with it. was about to call a hvac guy to come and hardwire it when i thought i better call the company first. Turns out the unit has issues with these types of furnaces and what they will do is send you a new piece and instruction on how to wire it into the furnace just one wire. I even had to send them a pic of my control board so that it gets wired in right. So for the unit is very good, customer service was very good. NOT putting that on the box and making me stress for two days - 2 stars. ill wait and see how it works ."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wait6000,
January 23, 2013
By badidea
from Oshawa, Ont.
"Old drum type humidifier gave out. Looked for somthing that would require less maintenance. Found Wait 6000 in local store and decided to try electronic flow thru unit. BIG MISTAKE. Installation not as easy as instructions say. Air flow sensor finiky to install. Had to move several times before it worked. Everything else OK. Had to replace electronic unit within 3 months. Water does not saturate pad inside housing eveny regardless of amount of water flow. Pad NEEDS to be replaced every year. Unit does not work as well as old drum type in delivering humidity to house. Does not have built in "Summer" shut off as other manufacturers do. Water shutoff solenoid gave out. VERY expensive to replace ( Almost as much as new drum type humidifier ). This unit is not low maint., does not work as expected, wastes water, still needs to be cleaned yearly. Better ones on market. Am in process of replacing 6 year old unit as can't afford to keep repairing this one."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
Review 4 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BUY and drain pipe along with it,
January 10, 2013
By Andrew33
from Ontario
"this is the 3rd one I have bought, Bought the Wait 500 model for 2 of my previous houses and had no issue's. The 6000 model is very similar, but digital instead of mechanical. Not sure if that is worth the extra money.
The humidity sensor is placed just above the unit, which when you install it you have o make sure it does not fall in front of the unit, as there is not any retainer clips to hold it above the unit. If it falls in front, it starts to measure the humidity coming through the unit and not the humidity in the house.
My biggest beef is the cheap drain pipe that comes with the unit. It came nicely bundled in a roll, but extremely kinked. Spent 45 minutes trying to get the kinks removed , as I could not even blow air through it. Wast of time, returned to HomeDepot and bought another drain pipe for $10. All in all added another 1.75 hours to the install.
Sent Wait an email about it, never got a reply."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Be Aware,
December 28, 2012
By HandyMane
from Ontario
"Be aware.. The supplier of this unit does NOT supply the PRESSURE SWITCH to this unit anymore(discontinued part)...the manual states that a humidity percentage of at least 35-40% for the initial set up in order for the unit to cycle on with the furnace. I set it to 50% and the unit would not engage. I called customer service and was told to set it to 60%....and to remove supply duct and test with a hair dryer. I set the humidifier stat to 60% first and the unit cycled on.
Also the drain hose that comes with the unit is useless.... Full of kinks which will not come out...buy a separate drain hose of quality!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 6 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wait6000,
December 20, 2012
By nadeem
from brampton
"I am a contractor and purchased 4 humidifiers last week and installed in 4 different houses. First of all, this humidifier is very easy to install and comes with a DVD. Before installation watch the video first and make sure if all the tools are present. I was new for this humidifier but not any more. It is very easy to install and works like it should, it comes with heat sensor and dip switch setting in case if unit is not shutting off try different setting. All humidifiers works great. One more thing I found this unit can be hard wire with the furnace. I highly recommend this unit. Great buy."
Review 7 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not that impressed.,
December 9, 2012
By Workingman
"I don't like this product. This product could be a lot better then what it is.
I have three furnaces and two Wait humidifiers. I bought these because they were marketed to me as a low maintenance item. Well, I found that is not true. They are high maintenance. Parts and filters are expensive too.
I am tired of the constant attention required to keep them working. The biggest problem with this unit is the temperamental air flow sensor. It works sometimes and does not work most other times. The air flow sensor is what triggers the unit to turn the water on and humidify the air. They require constant attention.
My house is dry.
I am looking for something better.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wait drain hose,
February 11, 2012
By Anonymous
from Windsor, ON
"I installed a Wait 5000 Flow-Through Furnace Humidifier a couple of weeks ago. I love the unit. It was easy to install up until it came time for the black drain hose. The drain hose is very poor quality, compared to the rest of the components. It was coiled very tightly in the box so that when you try to straighten it out it just kinks. I heated it with a hair dryer, but it still would not straighten out. I installed it and strapped it to the sides of the furnace stretching it as I went. I got most of the kinks out and checked to ensure that I had water flow. Yesterday I checked it and discovered that a couple of kinks had come back and were restricting the water flow. Today I went hardware store and purchased a length of clear plastic tubing. This installed without a single kink and I can see the water flow. I would highly recommend using this to anyone installing a unit. I think that this should be included with the unit instead of the cheap, black, kinky hose."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
Review 9 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Working without issues for 5 years now,
December 28, 2011
By Cacho
"The Wait 6000 has been working fine for 5 years now at our house. I installed it myself. I replace the pad every year because it accumulates scale. Our heating system is of the high velocity type, with small round vents, which heats using a hot water radiator, not a furnace. Also, we connected the water inlet to the hot water pipe."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wait 6000,
December 1, 2011
By bsmylie
from Toronto
"I bought a Wait 6000 in 2002. I installed it myself, it's still working."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
has never worked,
November 10, 2011
By peoed
from london, on
"bought two years ago. but the house was new, so humidity was still fairly high - did not need to place the unit immediately, so it sat in the sealed box for a year. did the install no problem. all the parts were there as required. have installed several humidifiers of various types over the years.
unit would not work since day one. but with the installation delay - there was no longer a warranty.
tried all the various dip switch settings (which is time consuming, having to unplug the transformer and reset the unit every time). did various checks on the supply voltages and water control, including voltages to the solenoid. replaced the solenoid to the tune of a further $65. same problem. finally found out that the humidistat controller in the control panel was only supplying a momentary 12 volts to the solenoid. voltage started dropping immediately, and the solenoid immediately shut down - no water flow.
now have a useless big plastic box hanging off the side of the furnace. will start searching for a manufacturer who supplies a product with few derogatory reports from users.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Installation easy, but to get it running is a test,
March 2, 2011
By Patman
from Ottawa, ON
"Well, the guys at Home Depot said this should be a piece of cake to install. And in fact it was. However....
Unless you furnace and air intake are the "ideal" setup, as seen in the manual....it's not as easy as it looks to get this thing running consistently. I had a high efficiency furnace, an air conditioner and essential a bit of distance to get the hot air coil/duct work to connect between this humidifier and the furnace. The regular coil did not work. So I went out, got solid duct elbows, etc....still did not work. I even moved the hole in my furnace side higher and away from the air conditioner coils....no success. I tape one side of the heat sensor in the humidifier, I changed my furnace filers to cheapo ones that let in pretty much all air (and dirt mind you)...still nothing.
So, as per the manual, when all else fails...call their 1-800 line, and order the $30 air pressure switch, which by passes the heat sensor and will now work when it senses air. Called to order...back-ordered 6 weeks.
Sigh.
So I called again to complain and they offered a by-pass kit that basically hooks onto your furnace board and turns on/off when the furnace turns on/off. Free.
WHAT?? Now why in the world would you not offer that in the first place, or include that in the box? So, now, it works.
Performance? Can't give an opinion as it's taken me over two weeks to try and get this thing to run.....been working for a day only.
My opinion in general? If you buy this. Call right away and get the by-pass switch for your furnace. Even if you don't really "need" it...works more efficiently than the sensor...don't even get that air pressure switch."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wait 6000 water usage,
December 26, 2010
By BrianV
from Markham, ON
"I am very disappointed with the volume of water that is wasted by this humidifier. I began collecting the water running through the unit and found that it was draining more than 100 litres of water a day down the drain. That works out to 1/4 of our daily water usage. At the present rates in Markham, Ontario, that works out to 21.2 cents a day."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Professional
Review 14 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not very good,
December 22, 2010
By Anonymous
from Regina
"Install is a snap but sometimes the the valve gets stuck open on the machine and water pours like crazy out the sides of it. Also it never gets my house over 28% humidity no mater what i set it at. I did however close off the water valve almost all the way and at least the thing doesn't gush water. I say stick with a drum."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 15 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works well for a while.,
October 22, 2010
By HumidInOttawa
"This unit worked well for 4 years then the solenoid failed and the cost to replace was about the same as a new unit.
For those four years it worked great even on the colest days and never had a problem keeping the house with a certain level of humidity (we have wood floors throughout most of the house)."
Review 16 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
February 8, 2009
By nsbs
"Mediocre results, Installs easily, drain hose is garbage too thin of material and kinks easily. I have humidity set for 45% but the maximum I've seen in house is 32%. I checked to see how much water is wasted and removed drain hose while unit was running and was astonished. I don't recommend this unit and will be returning unit and replacing with an Aprilaire 400A"
Review 17 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a waste of money,
January 30, 2009
By Radioman
"I purchased this unit Jan 15/09 and installed it on my furnace.
The air duct is flimsy and too short to be of any use. I had to buy a 6" flexible aluminum duct. The Drain line is also flimsy and kinks causing the unit to leak water all over the floor, replaced that with a stiffer hose, more money wasted.
Then with the unit running it poors water down the drain faster than a leaky toilet, and I found only the center of the filter gets wet instead of the total filter. And finaly the unit fails to shut off all the time and wastes more water. The only help I got was to buy an air switch and turn an expensive automatic unit into a more expensive manual unit.
I chose option 3, I took the thing back for a refund."
Review 18 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not sure about 'King', but definitely 'Wait'-ing,
January 10, 2009
By oiram
from Markham, ON
"Between several models on display, I made a selection based on capacity and price. Once installed (reusing existing connections - water in/out) - the unit didn't power on. Instruction manual explained about the 30 deg temperature to be reached within 1 minute, etc. OK. I left the unit over night to 'catch up'. In the morning I disconnected and reconnected power supply and the green power on LED was on, humidity 25%. I thought success!!!!!! The only problem was that water is not flowing through. Minor detail.
The manual explains the unit will not energize the valve until the blower is running to conserve water and if the unit is not opening the valve, that means that my system is underperforming. End of discussion. To fix 'my system issue': a) order additional piece from the AIR King, or
b) call electrician for hard wiring.
On day 3 I did the hard wiring, 24VAC are on the valve connections and the valve is not doing much.
On day 4 I connected 24VAC from the transformer to the connections and - here we go - the valve opens and the water flows...... forget about conservation, environment, future.
On day 5 I checked the reading on the digital display - still 25% (confirmd in my bedroom). With permanent flow of water humidity level didn't improve. In other words, the 'Air King' is not giving me expected specs.
10 days and 168 dollars (+GST/PST) later I am on this website looking for a different unit(s).
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 19 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lots of promises and features but does not deliver,
January 28, 2008
By MisterB
from Ontario
"I highly recommend STAYING AWAY from this unit and possibly any other “drumless” style humidifier. I installed this unit to replace a 30 year old drum style humidifier. The drum style unit was able to maintain the humidity in my home but I thought I would go with the new flow through style.
The unit was easy to install and I liked the digital controls but it ends there. This unit is not able to maintain humidity in my home (I use a hygrometer to confirm this) despite it's sq ft rating and I have a smaller 1600 sq ft home. I even had an HVAC company check my installation thinking I installed it incorrectly but they said I did it right. I have to keep it on the maximum setting to get just a few % humidity increase from it. The digital controls are also poorly implemented because any power outage causes the unit to reset to its factory settings.
The low maintenance promises are not entirely correct either as I have to replace the filter unit every year.
Bottom line is that this style humidifier does not work despite it's low maintenance promises."
Review 20 for Wait 12 Gallon Flow-Through Humidifier Electronic
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the Price they should include all the parts...,
November 8, 2007
By slylrux
"After installing the Wait 6000 to my furnace and re-reading the instruction booklet. I realize that my furnace was not given me the right specs to start this flow-thru humidifier. So I had to purchase directly from Air-King (Not sold anywhere else) this pressure switch (Another 30 bucks). Fortunately the shipping company was extremely quick (2 days). All and all everything is install and functioning correctly."