Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower

This lawn mower from Homelite features a 20" cutting width, 24 volt battery and 3-in-1 design for mulch, side or rear bag discharge. It also features handle mounted safety control with a key start, single-lever height control for a 1-3/4" to 4" cutting height range, and LED power level with easy to read display in handle dashboard. Long lasting, easy to roll ball bearing wheels also provide smooth control over any turf.
Customer Rating:
3.17 of 5
3.2
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
16
29 of 50(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Review 1 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Homelite doesn't cut it,
July 18, 2013
By TaylorD
from Montreal
"I've purchased this lawn-mower 3 years ago and I've had nothing but trouble since. First,after less than 2 months of use, I couldn't charge the battery enough to cut all my lawn. Tthere was a problem with the charger and Homelite was never able to replace it. I spent the whole summer without my lawn-mower, with absolutely no support from Homelite. I finally bought a used one and now can charge the battery ok, but it still doesn't have enough power to cut all my lawn, which is not very large. I have to do it in 2 steps, over 2 days, which makes no sense at all. DO not buy a lawn-mower from Homelite."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Be Green ... But At What Cost?,
June 30, 2013
By TucDream
from Okanagan, BC
"I bought this mower 3 years ago, and it worked great until this week. Battery is fully charged according to the LED readout, but mower will no longer start.
Seems like others are having similar problems. The handle (the one you hold to keep the mower running) is a sealed unit, so it is difficult/impractical to open up to figure out if something is repairable.
Other reviews indicate battery life is 3 years, and replacement batteries do not fit, cost another $120-$150, and must be jerry-rigged to fit. (Homelite has changed the design over the last couple of years, but retained the UT13126 model number for the mower.)
The only other issues I've had is that the weak rear rubber flap is 25% gone, and it is a bit heavy for my wife (but she only does the lawn once or twice a year when my honey-do list requires me to be on another project :-)
My previous two mowers lasted about 15 years each, so ...
It looks like we'll be reluctantly going to a gas mower where the total cost (including purchase price) per year is maybe $30 instead of a cordless at $125/year."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
May 21, 2013
By djronc
"had this lawnmower for 2 years and still cant believe they are still selling this . when purchased they never informed me that battery need to put inside during winter months. now it will not charge at all and a replacements costs about the same as the mower itself. so i have to purchase a new one. not impressed at all"
Review 4 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for avg sized homes and smaller,
August 19, 2012
By CmonMan
"I've had this mower for 3 summers now. I have a pretty decent area to cover and get about 3 mows per charge. I followed the instructions on battery life, charging about once a month during winter and keeping the battery indoors. Maybe that helps prevent some issues. Overall mower is ok. Mostly cheap plastic, but I don't really care. It does slow down a bit in longer grass. But its super quiet. Neighbours keep saying how its so quiet."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 5 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Defective,
August 18, 2012
By twiggy42
"I bough this mower and charged it overnight so I could start doing the lawn in the morning. Pulled the key out, lifted the latch and pulled the switch...nothing. Defective unit so I can't review it as a working unit. Thought I might post this though as its an annoyance to have a defective unit right from the store."
Review 6 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mower not interesting,
June 7, 2012
By Andre98
from Quebec
"This mower have 3 majors flaw, the handle is not at the right angle, you push the mower inside the eart beacause of that so it's hard to move. The batterie is outdated, a lead batterie weigth too much and the charger unit is not good, you need to unplug it when you think it's charged, its not automatic."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 7 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money,
May 7, 2012
By Shopper78
"Bought this lawn mower almost 2 years ago. I wished there were more reviews when I first bought it as it sounds like others have had the same issues:
1. Battery problems. My battery died and it is only under warranty for 1 years, to replace it would cost $230 plus tax and shipping.. totally not worth with when the whole lawn mower cost just a little more.
2. Slow unless you consistently mow your lawn every week and maintain a short lawn
3. Definately do not purchase if you have a medium size plus lawn. I have to charge 3 times in order for my lawn to completely be mowed. The fully charge battery life covers maybe 1000 sq feet lawn.
Soooo.. I would waste your money.
Thanks,
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
battery replacement,
August 19, 2011
By dennis20
from windsor on
"bought a 24 volt homelite lawnmore 3 years ago from homedepot and they don;t sell a replacement battery for it now [beware]"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stay Away,
August 17, 2011
By Corby
from Kitchener Waterloo
"The mower works ok if you walk slowly- but the longer you take the faster the battery drains.
It is heavy and awkward to turn.
After one season the Key shorted out in the handle and melted the panel. I am in the process of seeking repair.
I wish I had my old gas mower back- 14 years and no problems.
"
Review 10 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This has been a frustrating lawn mower!,
August 10, 2011
By handyathome
from Coquitlam
"Within the first month we needed to get a new battery. We were sent a new one (free as was on warranty) and that worked for 2 years. We have a small lawn, and probably only cut it maximum 12 times per year, so for about 24 cuts. The replacement batteries are expensive and inconvenient to keep replacing. I wouldn't recommend this mower because of battery problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like this Machine,
July 26, 2010
By Jackxxx
from Ottawa, ON
"This is a good electric Mower. But make sure the battery is fully charge before using the machine at any time."
Review 12 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase we've ever made by far.,
July 21, 2010
By BPMA
"This mower did work ok for the first year or so. And by ok, I mean that it cut grass that was already pretty short and if you walked slow enough. Over winter we charged fully every month as recommended. Summer came again and it would hardly hold a charge and we couldn't even cut the front lawn. After 4 trips to the homelite accredited warranty dealer in our city it never worked again. The charger would always blink indicating faulty battery or charger even though they were both supposedly new. Had it with the mower. Threw away $400 for a year of very mediocre cutting and now have to get rid of it some how and buy a gas mower. I have no idea where these good reviews are coming from. Check epinions for other reviews.
Caution: Do NOT buy this mower. I'd recommend against any battery mower for that matter."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprised!!,
June 20, 2010
By RG2009
from St. Catharines, ON
"I checked numerous reviews on various mowers, finally deciding to purchase this mower (skeptically) as I didn't want the hassle of a gas or corded mower. I am pleased with the way it has handled so far. The first time using this mower I was surprised at the way it cut through the 12"+ growth at the start of the season (mid-May) with no problems. It took about an hour and the charge lasted until the work was done and not sure how much charge was remaining. My yard has many bumps and dips and the mower handles it just fine. A couple weeks later (battery fully charged), again, no issues. It is now another couple weeks and the grass is about 6" long. I will be cutting the grass over the next day or two and I will let you know how it turns out :-) The only issue I have with the mower is the weight. As a 5'5" woman I find it on the heavy side. After using it all summer, I should be stronger :-)"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
Review 14 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked great the first year,
May 24, 2010
By mckmat
from Winnipeg
"First year was great, battery held a charge and quickly cut the grass. Over-winter, we had to charge the battery every month, wouldn't hold a charge even if the battery was sitting in the basement. And now it dies before we've done half a yard. Not enough power to cut through thicker grass and we're constantly having to cut the grass twice: once on a higher setting and again after lowering the wheels to get through the thick stuff. Real disappointment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mower,
May 2, 2010
By mower0213
from Sarnia, ON
"This is an excellent little mower! Charged it up and away we go! Cut my lawn in now time and it has down a fantastic job. Was a little skeptical at first, but it did the first cut of the year with ease. I love the easy start up. The only drawback with this mower is having to decide which method to cut the grass: mulch, side discharge, or bagging.
Great little mower."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 16 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty good mower,
August 10, 2009
By Mzadragon
from Creston, BC
"This is the first electric mower I've ever used. In general it works great. I love the instant on/instant off, and not having to mess about with gas.
However - it's terrible with thick grass. I have some patches where the grass grows quite thickly and even if I've started at a higher blade height to get it down, when I try to mow it very short it just drains the power and stops the blade.
The plastic bits are quite fragile. I have a few rocks that get thrown from the driveway onto the lawn and they have torn holes in the side chute and the back skirt.
I also have a large yard (about 7000 sq feet I would estimate) and find I cannot mow the whole thing on a single charge.
But I still feel good that I'm not polluting so much (gas mowers are significantly more polluting than cars are!).
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
Review 17 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Mower,
July 27, 2009
By SL03
from Vernon, BC
"This mower is great. Cut my entire lawn (~4K - 5K sq. ft.) and only used about 30% of the battery. Picked it up for $299, which is $200 cheaper than other cordless models.
The mower is fairly lightweight and easy to push."
Review 18 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
July 24, 2009
By theokie
"I was pleasantly surprised by this mower, as we have a large yard that is two lots, and the battery has lasted for three weekly mowings with no drop in power until the very end. About an hour of mowing per week. I do like the option of the removable battery as though the manufacturer claims it will handle -40C temperatures its not something I'm going to chance with Edmonton winters."
Review 19 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Look ma! Mowing with no gas.,
May 19, 2008
By sageq
from Kamloops, BC
"My biggest concern over buying an electric mower (corded or not) was that it may not have the torque or duration.
My choice of the Homelite cordless model was due to: didn't want a cable that could get tangled/cut or limit my range; the Black & Decker model was more $$ for not much more (although the B&D blade/cutting area is far more aerodynamic); and the blade is 20" compared to other small models.
The Homelite cuts exceptionally well, is wonderfully quiet (I can cut in the early morning and *nobody* can hear it), and is fantastically maintenance-free (just plug and go). The 3 options for discharge are an appreciated benefit.
The charge time may seem long (full-15 hours, 1/2 6 hours), and drains quickly on tall/thick grass. But considering I don't have to buy gas/oil, or dislocate my arm working the starter pullcord, it is perfect!
(also, if stalled just pull back and it's all good; my gas mower requires a pull-restart).
Only complaint is the feeling of a weak power switch handle and that "on" can't be locked into place (I solved this with a simple luggage secure-strap from the dollar store)."
Review 20 for Homelite 20" Cordless Electric Mower
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressive Lawnmower,
April 18, 2008
By rachen
from kingston, on
"I just bought this lawnmower and decided to write a review of this product because there was none on the website. I charged the battery 15hrs before the first use like it says on the manual and the lawnmower worked really good. I had long burnt grass at some places and by going slower it just did a great job. All I have to do is charge the battery every month of the year when I don't use it and it should be good for 5 years. At the beginning, I was scared to buy a cordless lawnmower but I think this one is a good one from what I've seen so far."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.