Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet

Smarter design for higher performance and fewer clogs all at a great price. The Cadet ® 3 series toilets come in a variety of styles; one piece and two piece models, elongated and round front bowls, right height and compact versions and even water efficient models that flush on just 1.28 gallons per flush. The Cadet 3 is a hard working versatile series with superior performance. The Cadet 3 series receives the highest ratings in bulk removal test between 990-1,000 grams.
Customer Rating:
3.5 of 5
3.5
 of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
12 of 18(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Review 1 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent performance,
February 20, 2014
By HomeDaddy
from Ottawa, ON
"Being used to the old fashion, water-thirsty models of the 1990s, I was surprised at the performance of this toilet. At first, you get the impression that the flush didn't "catch on", and then by some design feature, some suction happens and clears the waste out of the bowl, every time. Very impressed. The "small" flush feature is good for those light #1's, but I find that for really foamy or dark-colored #1's, the "big" flush is better. Mind you, that may be an adjustment I could be missing. And that "big" flush performs very well even when children go heavy on the toilet paper.
Just a note, if you're upgrading from a traditional toilet with a handle and have one of those shelves that hang over the toilet, you may have to remove or adjust the height of your bottom shelf directly over the tank, as it may make the flush buttons a little hard to reach."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible toilet,
February 9, 2014
By teed
"This is toilet is worse than any I have ever used. No matter what 'business' you use it for it leaves remnants of that business behind. Not even the 'light' stuff goes down well and this was a replacement toilet so we know the plumbing is installed correctly."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Buy This,
January 25, 2014
By elman
from Calgary, AB
"Our plumber told us that this is a non-standard toilet. The enclosed case interferes with a standard water supply. Can cost hundreds of dollars extra to re-jig the pipe. DONT BUY!!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
1 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mixed Reviews By Some BUT It Is EXCELLENT!!!,
January 25, 2014
By DRC3
from Toronto
"I purchased the Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet in early January 2014 to complete a bathroom renovation project. I had read all of the product reviews on the Home Depot website and while generally quite favourable, there were some that suggested problems with the toilet. The installation was VERY easy......just follow step by step.
I too noted that the fill level and flush mechanism were not 100% right after the initial install, BUT I decided to use the toilet for a day or two BEFORE attempting to adjust the settings. This allowed me to get used to the "new" dual flush system. On the second day, I took a few minutes to first "adjust the water level" to bring it up closer to the max. fill line. Made a great difference. Water level issue solved easily.
It is also a very good idea to manually flush the toilet several times without the tank lid in place alternately using both the low flow and full flow flushes. This shows you just how smoothly the flush system "should work". You lightly push down and do NOT need to "hold" just push and release. This gives you the confidence and knowledge to know "what result" you want your adjustments to achieve. I wanted the same smooth operation with the lid in place.
So secondly, I then adjusted the plunger type connections on the under side of the lid for each type of flush "just a few turns" at a time until the flush was the same with the lid on and off. After just a few minutes...Success!!!!
Have been using the toilet now for almost three weeks and am very very pleased with the product and my purchase."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
22 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
really like this toilet,
December 28, 2013
By georgeplimpton99
from saskatoon
"bought this toilet for our main floor bathroom; was easy to install although the directions that told us to "tighten the tank bolts until you hear a ceramic contact" was a little unnerving. We had to do some adjustments on the internal fill height mechanisms to get the proper amount of water for the flushes. I really like the higher seat height (I'm 6'-0") and the slow closing seat. the toilet flushes well and gets rid of all waste quickly and easily. much quieter operation than the toilet we replaces and even quitter than the new one we installed in the upstairs washroom last month. Would recommend!!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cleaning,
November 6, 2013
By johnhill
from Richmond Hill, ON
"I am not happy with this product, you need to flush multiple time, it gets dirty very quickly and requires frequent cleaning in a week!"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do Not Buy this Toilet,
June 25, 2013
By Grampy
from Thunder Bay
"Do not buy the American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet. Easy to assemble but the tank water filler will not shut off. Went back to the city from our cottage and bought another one. Worked the first flush then would not shut off again. Garbage product made in Mexico. Going back to the City tomorrow to buy a Kohler which I went for in the beginning and was talked out of it by the Associate. Make your own decision if you want to be stressed out. Replacement parts not available in store and have to be ordered from American Standard. Can you wait 10 to 12 business days for a replacement part and no toilet available"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
2 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Quality - Easy Installation,
June 23, 2013
By NotSoHandyMan57
from Oakville, ON
"I am not handy at all but was able to uninstall my old toilet and install the Cadet 3 in under 90 minutes. The uninstalling of the old toilet took the most time,actually.
The Cadet 3 is great! It is comfortable and has a very quiet flush. An important note is that it is about an inch higher than an older standard toilet, so you may not be able to re-use the old supply tube as it will most likely be too short.
But I am very impressed with the Cadet 3's powerful flush. So impressed that I replaced two more toilets in my house with Cadet 3 toilets! I highly recommend this product.
"
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Novice
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
February 7, 2013
By Reno32
from Kanata, ON
"Love this toilet. The higher height is excellent. Dual flush works very well, never clogs. I am getting a second one for my powder room. Also has the slow shut seat."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy installation and excellent performance,
January 19, 2013
By Craig1
from Newcastle, ON
"We replaced a toilet that wouldn't flush solids if your life depended on it. Often took two or three flushes. Of course, it was the builder standard when this house was constructed 23 years ago.
The Cadet 3 installation was easy, didn't require any tools and everything, except the flex supply line, was included.
It works like a charm - the lite flush takes care of liquids and the full flush is just the ticket when you drop a deuce.
The chair height, extended bowl and slow-close seat are nice touches.
I'd highly recommend the Cadet 3 dual flush."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Toliet,
January 7, 2013
By FootballFan
"Great Toliet that does everything well. Looks good, easy too install, uses very little water. The bowl has a very glossy appearance. It is quiet on the flush and fill cycle.Very happy with our purchase."
Review 12 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best ever,
December 25, 2012
By Pleased
from Listowel, on
"I installed this toilet last week and I have to say it is the best toilet I have ever used. It was installed during the Christmas season and had lots of guest use who all made comments about it being the nicest toilet they've ever used as well. I highly recommend this toilet."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 13 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hassle free,
October 13, 2012
By Bebekoi
from Bathurst, NB
"very efficient. even the half flush does the job. i would get more of this model for my other bathroom."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flo-wise not so good,
September 9, 2012
By Diggger
from Sault Ste Marie
"The toilet uses very little water and flushes most material down without a problem, but leaves the back of th bowl soiled and requires constant cleaning. I called American Standard and was told there was nothing I could do to rectify the problem.
I do not recomend this product, unless you don't mind cleaning it every time it is used."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Do-It-Yourself
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great budget Dual-Flush for the Price!,
August 20, 2012
By Anonymous
from Toronto, Ont
"If you still have one of those old 15L tanks, created prior to 1991, you're be extreme happy after replace it with one of these. I was shocked to see how little water it actually uses to get the job done and was properly impressed with it's power. The seat's nice and high, and the "slow closing" seat is very comfortable. While it doesn't really require tools to install, it's still good to have a wrench to give it that extra little snug fit. Removed my old toilet (1 hour with cleanup) and installed this new one in about 30-45 minutes. I'm totally happy with it."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 16 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty Good Product,
March 23, 2012
By ACclass
"My mom purchased this product a few months ago and so far so good. I find that having the duel flush to be very useful and cost effective. I especially like the cover seat and how it slowly lowers itself to prevent slamming and noise.
The only down fall with this product is that we had to replace the seat cover because the adhesive holding it down came off. Although the warranty covered the cost and the company replaced it, it was a hassle just having to replace it all together.
I would recommend this product to those looking for a stylish product for their bathroom, it is convenient and easy to take care of, as well easy to clean."
Review 17 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works good,
March 6, 2012
By kjhfjgkdf
from Nanoose Bay B.C.
"this toilet is not bad for the money. It can be installed without tools however it is easyer with a few simple tools. The flow control and push buttons need to be adjusted after install before it will work properly, not too dificult. My 4 year old child has problums with the buttons. I have had it for about a month now and no problums."
How would you rate your home improvement expertise?Handyman
Review 18 for American Standard Cadet 3 Dual Flush Toilet
Overall Rating -
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice features but uses more water than advertised,
February 29, 2012
By eastavin
from Oakville, On
"Pro: Antimicrobial bowl; slowly descending toilet seat and lid eliminates bangs; smooth install with custom bolts, nuts and special tools provided. Bolts presized... no need to saw them off. Dual Flush.
Con: Low flush liquid just swirls around and does not flush until you give up and push the Hi flush button. Hi flush works OK. Other issue is flush valve design does not work automatically after you trigger it. Rather it requires that you hold the button down for about 2-3 seconds and wait to see if it is going to flush. Result: minimal water savings versus expectations.. and kids dont hang around to see if its flushing ok.
What happens is the flush valve stays open only as long as you hold your finger on either low or high flush button if you wait to see the flush. Result is you end-up using more water than the advertised 3.8L liquid or 6L solid flush. My water meter showed 7.5 L equally for both low and high flush no matter how little I tried to hold the buttons down after the flushing got started successfully.
A phone call to the manufacturer support team resulted in a quick polite response but no real solution other than an offer to send another flush valve by mail. They said the settings were correct on the valve I had. As the valve is designed to operate as long as you hold the button down ... that will determine how much water is used."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.